Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 03:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 60

My System Specs

Default

"What are you idle and load temps accross the cores?"

I have it in a stock HAF 912 (meaning a front intake 120mm fan and a rear output 120mm fan, with holes on top and side with no fans, but room for them)

My temps atm: 28, 32, 34 and 32 C. I've run Prime95 for about 5 min a few times, temps got up to low 70's. Usually when I play Starcraft 2 (don't have any other recent games worth mentioning) the core temps get to low-mid 50's (graphics card gets to about 70).

Going on that, I think the stock fan would be good for mild overclocking on the i5 2500k.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 08:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

So I put it all together yesterday night and it blew me away!
My temps are slightly high, idles in the low 40s, but I think I messed up with the thermal paste. I don't think... I know I messed up with the thermal paste. So tonight I'll probably reseat the cooler. I might hold off on that though... It peaked at 61celcius while gaming, so temperatures are not really a huge concern right now.

I'm not getting more FPS, but the average CPU usage dropped by 30% in BFBC2.
In short... it doesn't struggle when alot of stuff is happening at the same time(frags, explosions, building falling appart and so on)
For some stupid reason... I can now jump fences I couldn't jump before? I don't quite get that one yet.

If anyone still wonder if they should make the move... DO IT!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 10:49 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Just got a Titan Fenrir from "Your_firendly_gamer" so I'll shove that thing on tonight.
I kept reading here and there that some heatsink were big. I would have never imagined big meant that big! My previous Freezer pro would look like a midget if they were side by side.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 11:14 AM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
So I put it all together yesterday night and it blew me away!
My temps are slightly high, idles in the low 40s, but I think I messed up with the thermal paste. I don't think... I know I messed up with the thermal paste. So tonight I'll probably reseat the cooler. I might hold off on that though... It peaked at 61celcius while gaming, so temperatures are not really a huge concern right now.

I'm not getting more FPS, but the average CPU usage dropped by 30% in BFBC2.
In short... it doesn't struggle when alot of stuff is happening at the same time(frags, explosions, building falling appart and so on)
For some stupid reason... I can now jump fences I couldn't jump before? I don't quite get that one yet.

If anyone still wonder if they should make the move... DO IT!
I screwed up on the thermal paste as well. My idle temps were in the 40-45c range. Picked up some paste, read a way to install it, installed it. Fired up the comp and now the idle temps are about 25-30C (and I live in FL were my ambient temp is in the 80s w/ AC going).

The method I followed was here: Vertical Line method

I see you getting great results with properly installed thermal paste w/ that cooler.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 11:31 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BVickery View Post
Picked up some paste, read a way to install it, installed it.
I did that a while ago...
But yesterday night... lol...
I got this MX4 paste that been sitting still for a few months... so mistake #1.
- When I pushed the stuff out, only oil came out... but I kept going without whipping the oil residue first.

Mistake #2
I wanted to see if my 775 cooler would fit nicely on the 1155 bolt pattern. So put the clean 775 cooler on there. It didn't fit properly so I removed it. I didn't re-paste the cpu.

Mistake #3
I put the stock 1155 cooler on... without removing the factory paste from it.

So hmm... yeah. Considering all that... I think I'm getting decent temps for the moment
Don't flame... I couldn't wait to see it running and I was willing to risk having to take everything appart to repaste.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To build, or not to build: that is the question Timid newbe New Builds 5 August 12, 2010 04:33 AM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 01:07 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 01:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 03:18 PM