Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 07:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default Advice on a folding machine

I have just recently thought of building a folding/downloading and I got a sweet deal on a Intel DX58so. but I would like to do this cheaply, so far what I have

Case: thermaltake spedo
mobo: intel dx58so
cpu: looks like a i7 920 for 150
gpus: not sure yet any ideas?
hard drive: 40g ssd agility2 already had it.
ram: this is where I am confused abit how much do I need because I was looking at kingston 3x4g t1 for 100, then I as a set of 3x2g from mushkin for 50 but i could get a used set of 3x1g for around 30 dollars
I have 300 dollars left in my budget and the chip has eating up alot of that unless I can get my hands on a cheaper chip that would do.

but My real question is what should I cheap out on ram or cpu or gpu?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 07:47 AM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

only started to fold end of last year but AFAIK, GPU folding is the only way to go if you want to get substantial PPD's per day without running 24/7. The other option is to get an intel 2600k for big WUs but thats out of the question considering you are sticking with 1156...

I would suggest a used gtx 460..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 07:55 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

It depends what you want to fold with, CPU or GPU? I'd find a used 950, and some GTX460s / GTX550s / GTX560s.
As for ram, 3x2Gb is more than enough.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 08:16 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Yeah most energy efficient way of folding is the CPU, and more points if you can clock that i7 920 high enough (~4GHZ). Otherwise, you shoulod jump on one of the suggestions made by 3.0Charlie and fold mostly GPU, with some regular SMP folding.

Either way, good to see another folder!!!!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 08:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

An overclocked Core i7 920 on its own is a fairly good folding chip. With $300 and that kind of rig I'd get 3x2GB cheap RAM and perhaps a GTX 560 Ti.
I'm not sure how well 3x1GB would do if you want to fold bigadv units, but if it's just regular SMP, 3GB would be fine.

I wouldn't recommend lower than a GTX 550 Ti for Folding because low-end GPUs will rob some CPU performance from you and will not be worth their power consumption. Note if you can net a really cheap GPU which consumes very little power (<10W), you could just get components to OC your CPU as high as it can go and not fold on the GPU. I kinda do that with my home server which has no graphics at all and is accessible through SSH only.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 09:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Thanks so much for your input and keep it coming, I will grab the 3x2g kit from muskin for 50 dollars I do have one GTX460 cyclone I could use. that now leaves me with 250 left for the cpu and one GTX460

I have never sli anything in my life so what I would think is a truly newbie question do the cards need to be the same brand and everything or will another GTX460 1g ddr5 card work in sli with my msi cyclone?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 10:02 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Don't SLI them, use them individually. And if you can OC them high enough, you can expected 11-13,000 PPD depending on the WU.

But to answer your sli question, any brand will work, but if you buy a lower clocked one, your current card will downclock it self to the other cards speeds if running in SLI, and vice versa.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 10:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

so would I be better off in just using one gtx460 and getting a i7 950 or using two gtx460 but not in sli which means just don't bridge them I'm guessing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 10:58 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the gpu client can take as much as 10-20 percent off the cpu.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2011, 12:01 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydu View Post
so would I be better off in just using one gtx460 and getting a i7 950 or using two gtx460 but not in sli which means just don't bridge them I'm guessing.
correct, and not enabling SLI in the drivers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up GPU folding with ATI and Nvidia in same machine??? Dadi_oh HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 May 12, 2010 01:30 PM
Building a dual GPU folding machine with one 16x and one 4x slot Photograph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 28, 2010 12:28 AM
Cases for my folding/gaming machine which is better! trayton Cases 7 October 26, 2009 07:55 AM
Getting new i7 machine need advice Bubbzilla New Builds 47 May 21, 2009 09:13 AM
Building a dedicated Folding machine Gav HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 27, 2007 10:35 AM