Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 26, 2011, 04:36 PM
Rookie

Default 1500 budget gaming pc components recommendations?

I want to be able to play upcoming games on max settings with a steady frame rate. Can you guys recommend what build I should go? Keep in mind it's my first build so I'm not completely sure what I'm doing.

2500k - $210
Coolermaster V6GT - $55
Mushkin Silverline Stiletto 8GB - $45
GTX 580 - $515
Corsair HX 850W - $170
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4 or ASUS P8Z68-V Pro - $190
WD Black 1TB - $90
V100 64GB - $80
Any DVD drive $25

Those were my thoughts but I don't know if those parts are compatible or worth it. What are your thoughts? Can you guys list a better build that might be cheaper?
and what is an ssd? I honestly don't know what that is or the function of an ssd.
Old August 26, 2011, 05:14 PM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

Looks ok, you could save some money by stepping down to a HX650. You dont need 850w for this build, even overclocked.
Same for the CPU cooler, something like a +212 or a CNPS10X would be a few buck cheaper.

Some people here will try to sway you into a 6950 instead, it really depends if you prefer green or red IMHO.

SSD = Solid state drives. These days lots of people including me are running them for boot drive with the OS on it and games/apps off a 1tb and up seperate drive. Makes for faster load times overall.

You already have a case, monitor, mouse, keyboard?
Old August 27, 2011, 12:56 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

If you have a microcenter near your house, pick up the 2500k from there instead, i got mines for 194$ after tax, 174$ shelf price. I agree w/the above poster bout the CM 212+, one of the best bang of the buck cooler you can get and it'll handle any mild/moderate OC just fine.