Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 18, 2011, 12:33 PM
Rookie

Default Help On My First Real Build

About Me:
I have built myself a new $700ish computer every four years or so for the last 15 years. My current computer is really struggling again so now it’s time for another upgrade. I have always wanted to build a really nice “high-end” computer, and this is the first time I have had the time and funds to try it. I have never liquid cooled, overclocked, done RAID 0, SLI, or anything fancy before; but I have been pouring over this forum for four months or so now trying to understand it all.

What My Computer Will Be Used For:
The games I try and play the most on my computer are: StarCraft 2, Crysis 1 and 2, Half-life 2, and hopefully Diablo 3. My wife spends a lot of time on Photoshop CS5 and I would like to be able to compress blurays, but our current system takes ~19 hours a disk.

The Computer:
I bought a Corsair Obsidian 800D and Corsair AX1200 PSU last week, so I already have those

Motherboard – Asus Maximus IV Extreme - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131700

Video card – Asus Matrix GTX 580P - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121467

CPU – Intel 2600K - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115070

Memory – Corsair Vengeance 16GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233143

Cooling – Corsair H100 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835181017

SSD’s – (2) OCZ Vertex 3 MI 120 GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227714

Other Notes:
I plan to overclock the CPU as much as I can, but it is the only part I plan on overclocking so the H100 should be adequate? I also plan on trying to RAID 0 the two SSD’s using the P67 chipset. My monitor can run at a resolution of 1920x1200, although my current computer cannot reach that.