Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2011, 07:05 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

looks very solid. should be fun.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2011, 07:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Ordered! Plan to wait till the morning didnt work out, the CPU had limited quantities and numbers were going down too fast.



Thanks a ton for all your help! I feel like I made great choices but also refreshed my knowledge of hardware solutions in the mid-range market quite a bit.

Merci
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 04:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Hey I got my hardware today! Not bad for ground shipping, except...

.. the RAM's missing :/ They just shipped it separately late today.

Just wanted to report I7 2500Ks make fine paper-holders....

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 09:21 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Nice hardware looks like you have a great set up. enjoy it.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 08:33 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Look great but where is your storage drive?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2011, 04:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Look great but where is your storage drive?
Oh, sorry if I didnt mention it before. This wasn't a "build from scratch" thing. I am replacing parts of my old box, and donating my old mobo/cpu/ram/gpu to a friend.

Basically I ended to keep my Antec case, my PSU, my floppy drive, my HDDs (3 of them, totalling 5 terra) and my two optical drives.

I spent much of the day doing just that, moving the old parts to an old tower and putting in the new hardware. Then I ran into a hitch; I discovered modern motherboards dont have an IDE connection anymore, the hard way. :( My optical drives were both IDE, and my only USB key was too small to put Win 7 on. So I went and paid twice the price I woulda paid at DirectCanada for a LG GH24NS70 (still pretty cheap). And I just spent the last hour battling with my case to put it in... somehow either it was defective or parts dilated over the years, because aligning screws was a terrible pain and I ended up using pointy ones to win my argument with the metal rack. Anyhow, RIP IDE drives, Ill put them in the system I'm giving my friend.

I still have some work to do, just taking a break. By bedtime, I WILL have Windows on this thing or fry every circuit trying. So say we all!

Edit: This is it. Im about to turn it on. ...

Sadly its a no-go. Not booting. Cpu Fan goes on for a few seconds and then stops grr. After a few seconds it starts again in a loop. Im getting too old to build my systems myself I'm afraid :(

After going through it several times the only thing I've found that concerns me, but that may be perfectly normal, is a missing connector on my main power plug... I mean this was powering another PC just fine yesterday but you never know.



Anyone thinks this is a problem? The matching pin on the motherboard seems to be normal. Any chance there was a pin there before and it fell off or something? This is a Coolermaster 700w silent pro.

Last edited by Valamyr; August 20, 2011 at 07:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2011, 07:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Nevermind the above. No power issues. Code 1D10T.

... in my defense, I havent built actual hardware since 2006. I work in IT (ish), but purely software.

Anyhow, so future generations can laugh at me, I gotta fess up; I plugged a USB outlet in the firewire output. Mobo probably thought I was a Mac user or something and didn't like me, I can't blame it.

Now everything boots OK, except if my SSD drive is plugged in. New headache begins

Edit: HA! Found out why already... wowwowowwow working system!!!

Last edited by Valamyr; August 20, 2011 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2011, 06:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Its one week later now, and i wanted to report everythings been running smoothly with the new rig after the initial headaches setting things up :) Benchmarks are great, overclocks are stable (running the CPU @ 4.4 and flashed the GPU to a 6970 running @ 900mhz), I'm in love with SSDs, Deus Ex: Human revolution @ 60FPS and everything loads super fast even heavily modded games!

I want to thank you everyone for all your invaluable help and I wanted to say, I'll be dropping by to keep learning more about hardware and perhaps help others too. Great community!

Extra thanks to my fellow Montrealer _dangtx_ who helped me in multiple threads and had very great advice!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1100 gaming pc build help and opinions Sharp-Shooter New Builds 20 March 29, 2011 05:11 PM
New gaming build - LF Opinions Inate8 New Builds 0 December 28, 2010 10:27 AM
Budget gaming build- opinions please! skyxxx New Builds 9 May 10, 2010 11:50 PM
I need three informations/opinions for my new lil matx gaming rig m1dget New Builds 8 July 31, 2009 11:12 AM
BUdget Gaming Build, need opinions issamhay New Builds 31 April 28, 2009 06:30 PM