Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default PSU question

Hi I'm new to this forum and I have a bit of a problem here. Recently I ordered all of the parts for my first build and ran into a bit of an issue. I am not sure if my psu will be enough now that most of my parts have arrived. I did not think this through very well. I have a raidmax 700W PSU. My parts consist of a Asus matrix gtx 580, g.skill sniper ram, i7 2600k, coolermaster v8 cpu cooler, and a seagate 1tb hdd. Will this psu be enough???

Edit: link to psu Newegg.com - RAIDMAX Blackstone series RX-700AC 700W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:40 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

oh,it will smoke up nicely.

you need a 600+ watt seasonic,corsair,antec..

unless your unit is a rebadged quality one,but i doubt it.

and welcome abaord.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

The back of the gpu case says it requires 700w minimum. Not sure if some of my other parts cause the overall wattage to exceed that. Are you sure it will be fine?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

the amount of power is fine. The quality of the PSU is questionable.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:54 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

if you wanna overclock all of that system, I would recommend a good 750W unit; the gpu requires 2 8-pin connectors alone but has massive potential
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
unless your unit is a rebadged quality one,but i doubt it.
It's an Andyson unit, but it's internally identical to the 600W version from the same series. The actual 12V output is only ~600W.

But to the OP, it should be more than enough, you can get away with a quality 500W power supply for your system, even if you heavily OC.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Ok thanks. Although this one might work, I will probably upgrade to better one for overclocking and such. When I get the money that is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 01:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

It doesn't matter if you're overclocking or not. You can overclock regardless and still be at the same risk factor of the PSU crapping out on you. A single top-of-the-line GPU at an overclocked load wouldn't breach 600W of power, never mind a smaller 580.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 03:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

The 600w you're talking about is just the video card or the entire system?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 03:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
It's an Andyson unit, but it's internally identical to the 600W version from the same series. The actual 12V output is only ~600W.

But to the OP, it should be more than enough, you can get away with a quality 500W power supply for your system, even if you heavily OC.
And this is with the power hungry Asus matrix gtx 580????? I heard it draws a LOT of power.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes