Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 03:23 AM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default gradual upgrade Gaming/rendering

I am try to help a friend of mine choose an upgrade path on this old hp pc. He brought it over last night and I took a look at it. fyi those cases are a mess on the inside, wires everywhere. This pc will be used for mostly gaming and some 3d rendering.

Currently,
Cpu - Q9300
Motherboard - ? lga 775 socket
VGA - msi Nvidia 250
PSU - delta 430w
CPU - Cooler stock
Case - hp small and cluttered.

On a limited budget , how should we proceed upgrading this? Is the q9300 a good over clocker? Thinking Case>video card>Motherboard>Cooler>CPU>PSU ? Open to any suggestions other than just junking it and starting new. I am looking for the most cost effective way of doing this as he is not able to spend tonnes of cash now.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 04:09 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well he can keep the hdd and cdrom and...everything else will go

start with mobo and cpu,something like an i3 1156 or i5(1155)
and then muster up for a 6950

hell have him run it on his desk if need be before next paycheck(case?:))

that's what i did for a bud of mine,borrowed him the lot of parts minus a case which i didnt have used.
till he could afford the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 06:21 AM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

I know it is all going to have to go soon. I know he probably paid 1000+ dollars for this when he got it 2 years ago. I think he plans on doing a big build in the future when more cash is available. I was just thinking what would be the best limited options to make improvements? Or is it better to just use what he has now and save up.

I had it hear last night and I cleaned it and reapplied thermal paste for the CPU and GPU. I was just amazed at the mess in there. No air flow at all, wires everywhere. I wanted to take it all out and clean it but it was just a nightmare. PSU at the top, motherboard inverted, cables everywhere, No air flow at all.

What about this Buy COOLERMASTER [RC-370-KKN1] Coolermaster Elite 370 Black Mid Tower ATX Case 3X5.25 1X3.5 5X3.5INT No PS for a case and just pull everything out and put it in that. Maybe that is just more for my benefit than actual performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 08:45 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

dude get a 912 lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 10:43 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

One issue you are likely to encounter right away is the mobo itself. Might not even be a standard size, mounting holes might not be in the regular location and so on. Ran into that with my Dell. That lead me to a full upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 10:54 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 366

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tianfeng View Post
I know it is all going to have to go soon. I know he probably paid 1000+ dollars for this when he got it 2 years ago. I think he plans on doing a big build in the future when more cash is available. I was just thinking what would be the best limited options to make improvements? Or is it better to just use what he has now and save up.

I had it hear last night and I cleaned it and reapplied thermal paste for the CPU and GPU. I was just amazed at the mess in there. No air flow at all, wires everywhere. I wanted to take it all out and clean it but it was just a nightmare. PSU at the top, motherboard inverted, cables everywhere, No air flow at all.

What about this Buy COOLERMASTER [RC-370-KKN1] Coolermaster Elite 370 Black Mid Tower ATX Case 3X5.25 1X3.5 5X3.5INT No PS for a case and just pull everything out and put it in that. Maybe that is just more for my benefit than actual performance.
I just replaced mine with a Fractal Design R3

The Coolermaster 370 is ok for very small builds with not too much of a wire mess... + it is quite noisy.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryC View Post
One issue you are likely to encounter right away is the mobo itself. Might not even be a standard size, mounting holes might not be in the regular location and so on. Ran into that with my Dell. That lead me to a full upgrade.
HP pcs do not use standard Mobo form factor too. I tried with one at the office, and it is a completly messed up form factor.

Edit2: Also, HP motherboards might not be plenty of OCing features... so that might not be possible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 11:50 AM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

ouch. ok thanks for the help. I didn't know hp used non standard boards. It looked like a matx but it had 4 ram slots and all of the 775's I looked at that were Matx only had 2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 01:33 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Took me a while to remember, but my old Dell uses a BTX or a slightly altered BTX form factor. Its possible thats what HP uses for theirs as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Upgrade og_duct New Builds 1 June 11, 2011 02:57 PM
Gradual Workstation Build Jim Johnstone New Builds 22 February 1, 2011 06:56 AM
rendering computer bissa New Builds 56 October 25, 2009 08:55 PM
Cloud Rendering Cranky Gaming 4 June 18, 2009 05:59 PM
GPU for 3d/2d rendering...? somecanadianguy Video Cards 1 May 26, 2009 10:53 PM