Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2011, 07:47 AM
backpack's Avatar
Top Prospect
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default PSU for GTX 570

I'm planning to upgrade my video card for the upcoming Battlefield 3.
I was just wondering if my current setup would take a GTX 570 without having to upgrade my PSU (Antec TruePower New 550W).
Specs are in my profile.

I know they say that the minimum PSU requirement is 550watt, which is what I have. But will it handle it without issues is the question?

I'm not exactly rollin' in money so if I could get by without having to upgrade the PSU as well I'd be stoked!

Help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2011, 10:39 AM
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694

what version is your psu,and what does it say for the 12v?

a 570 should eat around 200 or so watts

PowerColor HD 6870 X2 2 GB Review - Page 25/31 | techPowerUp

if i were you i would get another one,maybe 650 watts,though. just in case the
2-3 years you have probably on yours havent taken breath out of it :)
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 560 ti vs GTX 570? KSiG Video Cards 28 July 23, 2011 02:40 PM
Gtx 560 Ti vs Gtx 570 Hexofire Video Cards 7 February 21, 2011 12:07 PM
[WTB] Looking for: GTX 570 THS Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 29, 2010 05:24 AM
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 06:43 AM
Rumor of GTX 570 and GTX 560 on its way vohiep84 Rumor Mill 15 November 20, 2010 08:43 AM