Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2011, 08:47 AM
backpack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default PSU for GTX 570

I'm planning to upgrade my video card for the upcoming Battlefield 3.
I was just wondering if my current setup would take a GTX 570 without having to upgrade my PSU (Antec TruePower New 550W).
Specs are in my profile.

I know they say that the minimum PSU requirement is 550watt, which is what I have. But will it handle it without issues is the question?

I'm not exactly rollin' in money so if I could get by without having to upgrade the PSU as well I'd be stoked!

Help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2011, 11:39 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what version is your psu,and what does it say for the 12v?

a 570 should eat around 200 or so watts

PowerColor HD 6870 X2 2 GB Review - Page 25/31 | techPowerUp





if i were you i would get another one,maybe 650 watts,though. just in case the
2-3 years you have probably on yours havent taken breath out of it :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 560 ti vs GTX 570? KSiG Video Cards 28 July 23, 2011 03:40 PM
Gtx 560 Ti vs Gtx 570 Hexofire Video Cards 7 February 21, 2011 12:07 PM
[WTB] Looking for: GTX 570 THS Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 29, 2010 05:24 AM
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 06:43 AM
Rumor of GTX 570 and GTX 560 on its way vohiep84 Rumor Mill 15 November 20, 2010 08:43 AM