Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 27, 2011, 11:28 AM
Rookie

Default Budget Performance PC (Audio,Video and Gaming)

So this is my first time posting and I was wondering if anyone could answer a few of my questions.

Basically I started building a computer this summer for audio recording, video editing and some gaming. The main purpose is to record synthesizer tracks and some live audio as well and then mix it and such.I'll probably be using Fruity Loops, Audacity and Reason. I also might use this computer for converting some old videos into a more up to date format. Finally I figured that, while I am at it, I might as well make it capable for gaming.

In terms of overclocking I would like the ability to but I probably wouldn't do it until later down the road. My budget is under $1000 but I figured I'd probably be paying about $800. No brand preferences really except for the fact the my mother board and video card are spoken for as intel and nvidia respectively. Finally all of my components will be purchased in Canada

So far I have been playing it safe but only buying stuff when it come into a good price range. So far I have a few things that I purchased although I'm confused about what I should purchase.

Purchased Components:

EVGA GeForce GTX 460 SE
Buy the EVGA GeForce GTX 460 SE 1GB GDDR5 PCIe at TigerDirect.ca
Purchased for around $90 +tax with some instant saving and mail in rebates

ECS Black Deluxe P67H2-A2 SLI (B3)
Newegg.ca - ECS Black Deluxe P67H2-A2 SLI (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Purchased for around $100 +tax with instant savings and mail in rebates again

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Newegg.ca - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBXL
Purchased for around $50

Yet to Purchase Components:

Hard Drive