Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 08:59 AM
Livestrong's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 29
Default New Build -- Gaming

Hello,

So I have been reading this forum for about a year now and finally decided that I would build a gaming machine for new games like Diablo3, Battlefield3, SWTOR, Guild war 3.

HTML Code:
1. What YOUR PC will be used for.  That means what types of tasks you'll be performing. 
Gaming ONLY
 
2. What YOUR budget is.  A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread 
around 1000, using alot from my old build 

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from. 
Canada 

4. IF YOU have a brand preference.  That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture. 
Not really 

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are. 
Case, PSU, DVD, Hard drive for storage, H50
 
6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads. 
Yes
 
7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds. 
yes
 
8. WHEN do you plan to build it? 
Now
 
9. What resolution do you use?
1920x1080
Here is what i game up with:

HTML Code:
Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 XMP
Intel Core i5 2500K Quad Core Unlocked Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB
MSI P67A-G45 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155 DDR3 2PCI-E16 3PCI-E 2PCI CrossFireX SATA3 USB3
Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDMI DisplayPort Video Card
Corsair Force Series 60GB 2.5IN SATA2 SSD Sandforce
Let me know what you think
Cheers!
L

Last edited by Livestrong; July 27, 2011 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 09:28 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Good choice of parts there but a few sticks of GSkill RAMs would work just as well as the Kingston. Depending on the PSU wattage, you could reuse your old PSU if it is in the range of 500-550W which would be perfect for the HD6950. Overall nice choice of parts and good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 09:55 AM
Livestrong's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
Good choice of parts there but a few sticks of GSkill RAMs would work just as well as the Kingston. Depending on the PSU wattage, you could reuse your old PSU if it is in the range of 500-550W which would be perfect for the HD6950. Overall nice choice of parts and good luck.
I am reusing a Antec 850w Truepower Quattro
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 10:43 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Livestrong View Post
I am reusing a Antec 850w Truepower Quattro
That should be way more than enough should you desire to add in another HD6950 in Crossfire.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 11:02 AM
Livestrong's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
That should be way more than enough should you desire to add in another HD6950 in Crossfire.
i have been reading alot about folding and i am not sure if this is possible, but i was thinking about putting a 460 or a 560ti in and just folding on it.

I am looking into this as well now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Gaming Build Draiko333 New Builds 15 November 9, 2010 08:14 PM
new gaming PC, first build Farablood New Builds 3 July 16, 2010 11:09 PM
First Gaming Build CanIHasPC? New Builds 12 January 6, 2010 08:38 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 04:18 PM
New Gaming build Baccano New Builds 20 July 2, 2008 09:20 PM