Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 09:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Default Upgrade, Which way guys?!?!?!

So last week I posted a thread asking for help with a new build. But I made a compromise with my ex wife and I get my sig rig back,
So now I need to do what I can to get her into shape for Battlefield 3 Goodness. I know PSU won't be able to handle a bigger GPU being only 550watts right?
And If I add a new PSU to get a new GPU then I will be bottle necking my CPU right? So which path guys?
What is the best CPU I can get for my MOBO?
What is the best GPU aside from the top of the line, either Nvidia or ATI?
And is Four GB of ram enough? I really need to make the smartest choices I can as I still am on a budget.
Some of you might be thinking just get new rig all together. But I am not rich, And I am glad I dont have to borrow 1200-1300 dollars. I should be able to get what I want for around 500 bucks I hope so anyways??
Thanx for you help as always people.
Cheers
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 09:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

If you aren't getting enough FPS, just get a new GPU. Regardless of whether your PSU is a Sparkle Power or Sparkle Computer brand, both make solid units and 550W will be enough for pretty much any single GPU config.

Your rig is still quite good for its age and to get any significant performance improvements you'd need a full system overhaul. The only "upgrades" you might notice are a new GPU or an SSD.

In your case I would look for a good deal on a 6950 2GB or a GTX 570, (don't expect any overclocking with a reference 570 though) if you can't find anything just go for a GTX 560ti. Then if you have money leftover think about an SSD. The next time you need to upgrade you should be getting a new system.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 10:01 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,689

My System Specs

Default

Corsair TX650 V2 - $85 on sale
XFX 6950 2GB - $255 after MIR

Total - $340 +tax

You might be bottled by the CPU, but it would be minimal at most I think. You certainly shouldn't have an issue playing anything in 1080p. And you can take the rest of the budget and store it away until you can afford a MB/CPU upgrade.

But IMHO, you really need to make it a priority to replace that Sparkle PSU before your CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 12:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast Canada
Posts: 175
Default

EVGA | Products

I see this GPU and it seems very nice. Or the MSI Frozer2 version is also nice.

MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II/OC Review | bit-tech.net

Which one of these is better?? Or is there a better GPU for around 250.00?
__________________
System spec: Intel i7 2600k, Gigabyte GTX 570 Super Overclock, Kingston DDR3 2X4 GB sticks, ASUS P8P67 PRO, Cooler Master 700 watt PSU, 750GB*2 Sata,SATA III 1TB HDD Acer 24 Widescreen, Antec 300, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 01:42 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

try to play BF3 with your gtx260 ..if it is not giving good performance then buy a new GPU . price of the hardware will comedown each and every month . in my opinion just wait
or
may be you will get free BF3 game disk with a new GPU .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 06:33 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile New Build

For the best bang for your buck, look in the bst, where a 580 can be had for well under $400. As for memory, I maxed out my slots with 8gbs and it made a huge difference in start up and shut down.

Unlike the newer core i7 systems, I found performance much better overall with that extra ram. If u want 2 buy new, then I concur, the 560Ti or 6950 is a good choice.

I believe there is a 9550 available in the bst if you want to boost your cpu. I never owned a xeon, but the 9550 was amazingly fast. Start up alone was faster than my 980x, even with a SSD. I had

a Raptor 4 an OS.

The experts will likely have a field day with that 1, hehe.

Good Luck!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 06:38 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i say one 460 1 giger and maybe a bit of clocking,it shouldnt eat more than the 260 :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 07:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Default

460 would be a decent way to go. Not too pricey.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2011, 11:58 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

forget the gtx 460. the gtx 560 isn't all that much more expensive, and is newer generation.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2011, 07:56 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

IMO.. wait, play BF3 and see if your happy... if your not then get new bits...

550watt psu should be enough for current rig and any single GPU.. If you get new rig, get new PSU..


If you really want to get a new something now..
I would say a second-hand something, 5850 / 470 or up would give a nice boost at not much cost second hand..

Ball is in your court... but really... I would wait and upgrade all bits together..
Have made the mistake of upgrading single bits (particularly gpu) and having them limited by the rest of my machine with no real need to (and no funds) to change the rest of the box.

Summary, leave it alone / get a second hand GPU / Get a new rig.

Last edited by Dzzope; July 13, 2011 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
[FS] Help me out here guys... 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 25 December 20, 2009 10:19 AM
Well Guys... Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 March 11, 2009 12:21 PM
Please Help, You Guys. shayan288 Troubleshooting 28 October 18, 2008 03:31 PM
Hi Guys blogz101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 July 28, 2008 07:09 PM