Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 07:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto, on
Posts: 48
Default my first build after ten years

actually kind of a copy of my friend's

i7 2600k at @4.2 now (auto)
Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3
hd 6870
8GB ddr3 1600 at 1.25v
Coolit Eco R120
AX750

cpu-z validation:
CPU-Z Validator 3.1


I want to push it further. however, I need answers for the following (need to make sure I am doing it right as I am kind of a noob)

got two yate loon d12sl-12 for push-pull setup with the Eco R120 (quiet strong fans suggestion welcomes, <$15)

following is 30 mins prime95 result


are the temps good? comment? suggestions?

I am still not sure the following:
1) do i still need to reseat the cooler?

2) touchbios's vcore accurate? 1.28v is the highest I am getting. however, from the thread below, in auto mode, the vcore for 4-4.3 should be around 1.3-1.325v in Gigabyte boards. (bios check shown 1.296v)
The ULTIMATE Sandy Bridge OC Guide + P67A-UD7 Performance Review - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Last edited by skydealseeker; June 30, 2011 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 08:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

1. Not necessary at all. The temps looks fine and 60C for full load with an overclocked SB is quite good actually.
2. You don't have to follow strict guidelines that your CPU at this clock speed must be at this Vcore range. The lower Vcore your CPU can achieve for a certain amount of clock speed, the better the quality of the binning for your CPU. In fact having a CPU that requires lower voltage is a good thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2011, 08:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto, on
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
1. Not necessary at all. The temps looks fine and 60C for full load with an overclocked SB is quite good actually.
2. You don't have to follow strict guidelines that your CPU at this clock speed must be at this Vcore range. The lower Vcore your CPU can achieve for a certain amount of clock speed, the better the quality of the binning for your CPU. In fact having a CPU that requires lower voltage is a good thing.
thank you for the answer first.

the temps I am getting right now is after the push-pull setup. if I were using the stock fan only for eco r120, I am getting high 60 to low 70 for prime95, and 78 C for IBT (max wtih 8 thread). that is why I am asking if I need to reseat the cooler.

back to question 2: as cpuz can't recognize the vcore for gigabyte z68 motherboards atm. the only way I can check it is through touchbios, can I rely on it?

Last edited by skydealseeker; June 30, 2011 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 02:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Usually that kind of temps is normal after overclocked. In a situation where the waterblock does not contact with the CPU properly you would be getting about >50C idle or at least that is what happens when you have poor contact with the CPU. A build that I made a while ago had a Core i7 2600 + Hyper212+ and the temps are about 60C+ max load, mind you that this is a not an overclockable CPU.

The mounting mechanism for CoolIT is quite good and easy to assemble, so improper mounting is unlikely when you compare mounting mechanisms from the Corsair H50 and H70. You can't really expect a AIO liquid cooling unit to actually perform as good as a custom WC. There are even air coolers like the Noctua which outperforms almost all AIO WC units.

Unless you want to take a digital multimeter and probe the motherboard for a very accurate reading, the TouchBIOS is about as accurate as it gets. It is Gigabyte's proprietary monitoring software and it would be a shame if their software does not show the accurate Vcore within a small margin of error.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 05:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto, on
Posts: 48
Default

thank you for the info.

I might give it a try at 4.5:)

quite stale now at 4.2 and no really need higher clock atm
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 11:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto, on
Posts: 48
Default

tried 4.5ghz today.

only changed multiples and load line.
auto level 1 level 2
5 tests
IBT (max with 8 threads) failed passed H vcore, did 2 tests and stopped
IBT (very high with auto) passed passed passed (all high 70 C)
prime95: not tested 35mins not tested due to high vcore

the room temp right now for me is high (27C) and the other tests I have posted are tested btw 20-22C. how much degree would I gain if I do the test at 22? I will probably do more test tonight or when the room temp down to 20C. vcore is 1.33. and I don't know why the ram volt bumps to 1.34v from 1.25v, I didn't touch it in the bios. (from my previous 4.2 tests, the ram volt stayed at 1.25v)

prime95 35 mins test:


are these temps acceptable? I set almost everything enable. suggestion/comment plz everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st build in years.. and New! The Chemist New Builds 7 December 27, 2010 05:47 PM
New Build after 2 years Cobrajr122 New Builds 11 September 12, 2010 09:12 AM
7 years later... ready for another build. Peanutmc New Builds 17 August 30, 2010 02:07 PM
New Build (First in years) Taichan New Builds 0 June 13, 2010 02:13 AM
About to build first PC in 8 years...how's this? computermonkey New Builds 20 October 16, 2008 04:45 PM