Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 22, 2011, 08:27 AM
Rookie

Default Advice on new Monitors+vid card

Hey everyone,

About 2 years ago, I built myself a new i7 rig which was a pretty good (and decently priced) rig at the time. However, I've been living abroad for the past year and my computer is just sitting at home gathering dust. Well, I'm heading back at the beginning of August and I want to upgrade my monitors and potentially my video card.

When I built my rig, I wanted to get a good video card for the 19" monitor that I had. I'm not into heavy gaming, but I do enjoy casually playing MMOs and FPS. The main use of my computer is watching movies, coding and design work as I am a web developer. So I bought a GeForce GTX 275 and overclocked it slightly. It's been really great on my 19" monitor.

Now that I'm coming back, starting a new job, and focusing much more on web development, I want to have dual monitors. I'm leaning towards the ViewSonic VG2428wm 24", because its reasonably priced, has gotten decent reviews, and the swivel is really good for coding and reading documentation. I'm also interested in playing a new MMO, Blade and Soul when it comes out. So here's what I'm wondering;

1) Are these decent monitors? Any other suggestions on suitable monitors for my needs?

2) Would my 2yr old GTX 275 (OC) be good enough to continue using? If not, I'd like to run another new GeForce card in SLI along with my GTX 275. What would be a good graphics card to get? (I'm eyeing the GTX 560 series).

I have a moderate budget so keep that in mind.

Thanks!
Old June 22, 2011, 09:28 AM
F@H

My System Specs

Just to let you know, you cannot run cards from different generations, or different models within the same generation (ie 550 and 560) in SLI together, at most you can run the lower end card as a dedicated physx card.
Old June 22, 2011, 09:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs