Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2011, 05:17 AM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 75

My System Specs

Default Planning new rack server

Hey there, I'm going to be building a new server and was looking for comments / suggestions on the following:

Case: Super Micro 2U - Rackmount 825TQ-R720LPB 2U 720W 8x3.5Hot-swap SAS/SATA ATX Black Retail

Board: ASUS P8B WS

CPU: Xeon E3-1230

Raid 5: Adaptec RAID 6805 KIT

HD: 3 x Seagate Cheetah 15K.7 300GB SAS 6BP/S 3.5IN 15000RPM

Mem: 2 x Kingston 4GB DDR3 1333MHz ECC Registered CL9 DIMM 1.5V Server Memory

Cooler: Zalman CNPS8000A Heatsink Fan

O/S: Ubuntu Server 10.04 LTS

Thanks for any suggestions!

Last edited by Entilza; June 12, 2011 at 05:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 11:17 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I can't find any faults in the setup.
Those are badass drives.. most of my clients opt for the 7200rpm drives when they mount them in a backplane. But that will get you where you need to be - fast! :)

I'm guessing you're going to RAID5 the three drives? I always prefer to RAID1 two drives for the OS, then RAID5 the data drives. It's another drive, but "better" fault tolerance, as RAID 5 recovery can be sketchy sometimes. At 300GB, you should be fine though.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 12:22 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 75

My System Specs

Default

Hey there, thanks for the thumbs up.

I've always just used RAID 5 on the entire thing. I never thought to do what you suggested, it would require 5 drives then instead of the 3 though?

O/S - RAID 1 (2 drives)
Data - RAID 5 (3 Drives)

The performance would be definitely better in that setup.

These SAS drives are pricey, the Seagates seem reasonable though so we're going for the 300 or 450 sizes.. I liked that the controller has online capacity increase. So you can add another drive in future and increase the raid capacity without formatting... I have yet to try it sounds real cool.

Would you believe we're still running on a Pentium III server right now? :P We do have a raid 5 setup which is what is keeping the system going as our software is mostly I/O Intensive. But this server should be an insane increase in performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 12:36 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Ah right, yeah it is two extra drives, not one.
I do onsite IT support for small/medium business' in a small town now, so a PIII isn't hard to envision - I deal with a mix of older and newer hardware all day.

That setup will be light years ahead of what you're currently running, considering PIII's were "new" in 1999-2002 ish.
There's nothing wrong with having a RAID5 OS drive, but I personally like to separate the OS and data for security and fault tolerance reasons.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis CoolHandL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 24 December 22, 2010 11:37 AM
My New Rack Cobrajr122 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 6 September 22, 2010 08:07 AM
Identify a rack! odis172 CPU's and Motherboards 3 December 31, 2009 11:10 PM
Small rack units? 3.0charlie Cases 5 September 5, 2008 05:31 PM