Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2011, 05:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

You can disable parking on the green drives, I think.

I'd get a 60-120GB SSD and put your mechanical drives on storage duty. One as the main storage and one as the backup. You'd probably hate to lose 900GB of movies and what not.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 12:40 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

+1
Just put 2 2TB drives on order for RAID redundancy, lost 1TB of data before.. that was a bitch.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 03:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

hey there,
thanks for the advice got my harddrive today gonna use the 2tb's for storage and clear off my caviar back as a boot drive.
the header stopping would cause problems I can imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 07:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Can't wait to see more updates.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 08:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Did you re-install windows?

If not that would be the first thing I would do when you get all your stuff backed-up.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 06:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

well one last update before this is closed. i did reinstall windows on my black caviar and its much faster. crossfire of my two 4870x2's is running good for most games seeing a increase in framerates but not all games.
now my next venture will be to replace my 850watt psu... im thinking my new build is too much for it once i try overclocking.
P.S. MY 3D MARK SCORE AT 3.2GHZ CPU WAS ONLY INCREASED BY ABOUT 1000 POINTS BY ADDING A SECOND 4870X2...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2011, 06:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Regina,SK
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

by overclocking my cpu to 3.45ghz my fps went way up in just cause 2 with everything maxed... im guessing there was a bottle neck because 3.2ghz was too shuttery
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2011, 03:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear your finally getting more positive results..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaked GTX 480 512-Core Benchmarks Show Improvement FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 August 9, 2010 06:12 PM
First WC Try finally running scruff Water Cooling 12 June 27, 2010 07:06 AM
Project: Cam finally ordered all his parts! encorp Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 August 12, 2009 10:34 AM
Finally! trayton HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 August 7, 2009 02:31 PM
Finally got an 8800GT KnSKranky Video Cards 24 January 27, 2008 09:17 AM