Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 07:28 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default Static Control

Hey all,

After so much time dealing with computer parts that feel like they were molded out of sh!t, I finally have some parts on the way for a new rig, that I'm christening "Project Panama." But after losing two builds to ESD, I am really leery this time around and want to ensure that NOTHING goes wrong. The nature of my place means I must build while standing on a carpeted surface (although on a wood table with metal legs). I will be wearing rubber-soled flip-flops, but I feel like I need to go further. I feel like I need a pair of nitrile gloves ('cause I hear nitrile is naturally static-resistant) and an anti-static wrist strap. Or more. Do I really need all this? Is there a better way? Am I being paranoid? Any input appreciated. Just wanting to not fry my brand-new rig.


EDIT: Also, I just realized, to my disdain, that my GPU doesn't come with a DVI-to-VGA adapter. How much do these generally run? Prefer to buy one local, not interested in paying like $30 in shipping.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.

Last edited by Reyzac; June 4, 2011 at 07:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 07:49 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

A wriststrap at a minimum should be enough. Being barefoot might be better than the flip flops.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 07:55 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
A wriststrap at a minimum should be enough. Being barefoot might be better than the flip flops.
Even on carpet?
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:07 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

In my experience, yes. But the wriststrap should be enough on it's own for consumer electronics.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:12 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Just ask the manufacturer to send you one. I know XFX does this for sure since they sent me a HDMI-DVI and a VGA-DVI adapters in two separate occasions. However, your mileage may vary.

As for static electricity, i just touch my case before I start working on it. So far, all is well.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:16 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
Just ask the manufacturer to send you one. I know XFX does this for sure since they sent me a HDMI-DVI and a VGA-DVI adapters in two separate occasions. However, your mileage may vary.

As for static electricity, i just touch my case before I start working on it. So far, all is well.
Do they really do that? Hmm, should check that out.

Yeah, I built a rig for a friend where that's all I did, and it was stellar, but then again he had hardwood.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:22 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyzac View Post
Do they really do that? Hmm, should check that out.

Yeah, I built a rig for a friend where that's all I did, and it was stellar, but then again he had hardwood.
It's the movement on the carpet that causes the static build-up, not the carpet itself. Just be sure to touch the case every time you move around and your potential (difference in electrical charge between you and the components) will be neutral.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:23 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I build my PC's on my carpetted floor coz I don't have space on my tables. But that hasn't killed any PC parts yet. (Knock on wood)
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 08:26 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

All right then, I'll make sure to do all that (but I'm still wearing a wrist strap.)
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 01:19 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

One more thing: How do I tell which port is a DVI-I and which is a DVI-D on my vid card?
Sorry for the double post.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static IP's from ISP and Wireless Setup - Help GameOnTurtle Networking 14 September 4, 2010 09:41 AM
did i just my 8800gt with static? kuziwk Video Cards 10 February 3, 2010 11:50 AM
Setting Static IP in Vista 64 not being saved vintank Networking 4 July 15, 2008 11:37 AM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Static In My Sound? kcksteve Audio 7 August 31, 2007 10:49 AM