Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 01:35 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default


Digital Visual Interface - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 01:37 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Nice, looks like they're both Dual-Link DVI-I. Thanks NI3.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2011, 05:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

As someone who also builds on carpet, I agree that a wrist strap is fine as well. I built my Sandy Bridge during the winter when it was dry in the house, and I just made sure that parts were connected to something that is grounded or out of the anti-static bag only when I was ready to use them. I like PSUs that have an on-off switch (most of the non-exploding ones do) because you can use them as ground by having them plugged in but turned off.

It may be a paranoia step, but while I was installing the CPU and cooler to the motherboard, I also had the motherboard connected to ground. I did that by running an test lead (wire with alligator clips) between a USB cable connected to the motherboard to a computer PSU (actually an old AT, no 'X' power supply ) that was off.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2011, 06:28 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Interesting idea but maybe a tad overkill. I suppose I'll be fine with a strap and touching the case.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2011, 10:42 AM
Ebbtides's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Thompson, Manitoba
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

If you're super concerned about ESD - you might think of investing in an entire work kit. I found on of these in my dad's office in a back closet, and have liberated it for a greater good. They run anywhere from 60-80 bucks though.

3M 8501 Static Dissipative Field Service Kit, Standard, 0.021 on sale at Global Test Supply

For something hiding in a back office though, I gotta say this has served me extremely well. Great piece of mind.

Last edited by Ebbtides; June 5, 2011 at 10:43 AM. Reason: spelling typos
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2011, 03:13 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Wow.
Not that concerned, like I said just trying not to fry my new rig.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static IP's from ISP and Wireless Setup - Help GameOnTurtle Networking 14 September 4, 2010 09:41 AM
did i just my 8800gt with static? kuziwk Video Cards 10 February 3, 2010 11:50 AM
Setting Static IP in Vista 64 not being saved vintank Networking 4 July 15, 2008 11:37 AM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Static In My Sound? kcksteve Audio 7 August 31, 2007 10:49 AM