Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2011, 03:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default time to upgrade

I make a huge mistake with my tax refund and I have more than anticipate

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.
Gaming, photoshop, CAD and VM


2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
$ 1700


3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
CDN


4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy,
nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.
I want an Intel SSD for reliability, I already have spare blacks 500, 640, 750 and 2TB, for the board Asus or MSI, I don't find Gigabyte atractive .


5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
My brand new Antec DF-85, monitors key, speaker, mouse, UPS


7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Default I want 110% reliability


8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
ASAP


9. What resolution do you use?
1920 x 1200 on the main monitor + 2 smaller monitors

Since I will use VM I'm thinking six core 970, I guess for gaming and photoshop it will as performing as the new 2600

I'm planing to use a GTX 580, but if ATI have something as powerfull, I will not say no ( even if I have to strech the budget) since the case have red LED

For the SSD I already have a 80 gb Intel and a 64 G skill and it's plenty, so I don't plan go over 80 gb

I already own few ROG board, and frankly I never use their full potential, so may be this time I can save a little bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2011, 03:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

probably a 2600k right now but wait for dozer? :)

the rest is teh same,save for the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2011, 03:51 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
probably a 2600k right now but wait for dozer? :)

the rest is teh same,save for the motherboard.
I know I will save few $ 100 with a 2600k, but I will have 2 or 3 VM running, as for the Dozer, well I would like to have a new system before xmas.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 01:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,928

My System Specs

Default

No time to give suggestions for everything right now, but wanted to mention one thing to consider. Nvidia only support 2 monitors per GPU (as far as I know), so if you intend on running 3 monitors you need to go SLI or go with something from AMD (ATI), which supports 3 or more monitors per card.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 06:44 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
... but wait for dozer? :).
after all , that's may be not a bad idea to wait for Dozer but also Ivy

So I think I will upgrade a little bit my existing i7 960 with a 580 for now and see what happen in the next months

so here what I plan to purchase, why this Asus, because I like the look, now unless members told me that's a wrong choice ( with something to suport it ) , I will go for it

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 10:13 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Since you're currently using a LGA1366 board now it is best to just upgrade your CPU to the Core i7 970 as you are running multiple VMs. Another option is to go with Bulldozer but it is not out yet and performance is still an unknown. A 6 or 8 core Bulldozer should be priced $240 and $290-320 respectively.

As for the GPU if you're not in a hurry, you can wait a little while longer for the 28nm cards that are coming out within this year I guess. The newer cards should benefit a lot from the die shrink. Increased performance, reduced temps and reduced power consumption to name a few of the benefits.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2011, 10:44 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
Since you're currently using a LGA1366 board now it is best to just upgrade your CPU to the Core i7 970 as you are running multiple VMs. .....

As for the GPU if you're not in a hurry, ...

the title of the tread should be I need a new pc to replace the one that will upgrade my old q6600


thanks for the reply, actually I was not planing to upgrade the CPU. I want to use the PC to replace an old q6600 pc , but I guess I can wait a little bit longer, but the GPU is a need as my existing one make few artifacts time to time ( about every 3 or 4 days ). Anyway for the little gaming I do, this GPU will be fine for my ivy or dozer build late this year, I know it's not an obsolete build but I need 2, one for the house and one for the work


so for now the actual build

Antec 900 two with a corsait HX 650
Motherboard: Asus Rampage III gene
CPU: i7 960 with a Noctua cooler I think it's cp14 ( the horizontal one)
Radeon 5870
12 GB of G skill
64 G skill SSD
500 black HD for game a users files relocate there
2TB for other stuf


SO I will update with part I actually purchase for the futur build

Case: Antec DF-85 with the special 1000 watts PSU design for it
Asus GTX 580

but most important is this a good GPU , I have worry about the thermal stuf, Asus are well know to not apply the thermal properly on the motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2011, 04:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

RAIDMAX Quantum ATX-798WB Black SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Gigabyte 770t-usb3
AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor (6 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
Kingston HyperX 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9AD3/2G 4096MB RAM
1 TB
ATI Radeon HD 5770
17"1440/900 monitor
Turtle Beach Ear Force X11 Gaming Headset 5.1
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)
700watts powersupply
i want to upgrade to the 6000 series what video card can i get with out a bottleneck
and when will the 7000 series come out and i want to upgrade and ssd wut kind of ssd should i get need a good brand


Last edited by overclockdrew; May 30, 2011 at 06:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2011, 06:30 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

So I finaly make my order, I choose the MSI P67A-GD80 , it's look like an amazing board and for $ 200 I get everything I need ( dual nics, good onboard sound, SLI, and for that price I even have power buttons and voltage probe lead "a la ROG" for a fraction of the price , and I choose a 2600k to go with it, Now the only regret I ordered my Asus 580 last saturday, If I know I will get this board, I will have choose MSI N580GTX Lightning GeForce GTX 580 , and my other regrets is a blue motherboard in a red world

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to upgrade? silentfrost Video Cards 11 December 14, 2010 11:22 AM
Upgrade time! D4ng3r New Builds 11 May 10, 2010 09:59 PM
upgrade time lcdguy CPU's and Motherboards 8 March 11, 2010 07:36 AM
It's time to upgrade... 3.0charlie New Builds 9 July 4, 2008 07:43 PM
Time to Upgrade Again Beermaster CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 23, 2008 09:25 AM