Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2011, 06:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Bah, it's all part of the fun and more info. for us. That combo is ok (no USB3 though), and the 8Gb of ram would still fit in the 350$ budget.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 03:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

I edited my old post with link to the benchmarks. This is what i recommend:
NCIX.com - Buy Intel Core i5 2500K Quad Core Unlocked Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB - Intel - BX80623I52500K - in Canada

Price match this to NCIX
Agile Electronics - Buy Mfgs Part-#:GA-P67A-D3-B3 online in Canada

Re-use old ram or tell your son to pick it up himself soon. Honestly the i5 2500k is heads and shoulders above everyon else. Also I recommmend overclocking even though you said he wouldn't. It will literally take 5 minutes. Up the fsb up the multiplier run a test see if it's stable. 4.0 ghz on stock cooler easy with almost no temperature changes.

These CPU's are pretty sweet.

Alternatively if we stick to absolutely no overclocking.
NCIX.com - Buy Intel Core i5 2500 Quad Core Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB - Intel - BX80623I52500 - in Canada

Gigabyte H67A-UD3H-B3 ATX LGA1155 H67 DDR3 2PCI-E1 3PCI 1PCI-E16 CrossFireX SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard - DirectCanada

The only problem is that you need to go up to $130 for a mobo to get ATX sized H67.
This means you are much better off budget wise to go with the P67 chipset anyways.

If you absolutely need ram check this out.

Buy The AMD Phenom II X6 925 Processor 3.2Mhz 125W AM3 Processor at Vuugo. Speak to one of our Customer Service Representatives for more information!

Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H 890GX AM3 ATX DDR3 2PCI-E 2PCI SATA3 USB3.0 HDMI GBLAN CrossFireX Motherboard - DirectCanada

Ram: I know ideally you want 8 gb or more for CS5 but it's not in the budget. gigabyte said they would allow you to put bulldozer chips in this mobo which is why I picked it otherwise you could go less and pick up more ram.

NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Core i5 1.5V Memory Kit - G.Skill - F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL - in Canada

pick up another one when you upgrade.

Last edited by JJThomp; May 12, 2011 at 03:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 10:23 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the options everyone! I'll try to nail this down in the next 24 hours, and let you know what we've done. And yes, I'd love to fit a 2500K in somehow, as he already has a decent HSF that will adjust to 1155.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2011, 06:39 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Err... I'd pay a bit more for those "black socket" AM3+ compatible motherboards that are on the market right now.

Also, can't you just OC the E8400 and make it last another 2/3 months? See how he likes this "newfound experience" and then decide on what to do.

How is he frustrated?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 10:37 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

LOL. The game has changed yet again. At 3:00 yesterday, we were going for a 2500K/P67 combo, which stretched the budget to $365 plus tax. This morning, I was offered a 1090T combo that I couldn't turn down. While it may lag a little behind SB chips in the Photoshop benches, it has now saved him enough to get a SSD boot drive into the budget. Thanks to everyone for all the help and suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 11:06 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Just make sure you don't setup the Photoshop scratch disk as the SSD...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 11:14 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the heads up. I'll make sure it's configured to use the HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 11:33 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

so close to dozer release, would pain me to order mid-higher end :)

still, whats the final list looking like? :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo upgrade, some questions! bdpakaknox CPU's and Motherboards 8 June 11, 2011 12:13 PM
CPU upgrade Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 20 February 17, 2011 04:07 PM
Main rig Compute Upgrade (CPU / mobo / RAM / GPU) frontier204 New Builds 6 January 9, 2011 05:20 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
Cheap mobo/CPU upgrade Johnny Tuffnuts New Builds 4 February 6, 2010 07:53 PM