Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2011, 08:59 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADay2Long View Post
.......and reading up it is suggested that every VM has a dedicated NIC ... I mean for 25$, I can probably throw in an extra card!......
Not exactly, you need 2 cards: the first NIC will be for the Host machine ( ex.: EXSi)

the second one will be for all the VM let me explain how the second one work ;
s

the ESXi will use it to create a virtual network that means it will make a virtual switch , so all the VM will be connect to this virtual switch like they will be on a real one, so each VM will have a different ip address .

So the VM do not share the same network card they share the same virtual switch (hub) and it's this virtual switch that is connected to the second nic.

it's exactly like if you will use a nic for each VM and connect them to an external switch

The only reason you will need a third NIC is if the network are not on the same subnet
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2011, 10:51 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

I see, thanks botat!

Been reading up and it seems ESXi only recognizes server grade NICs, so the Intel one won't have a problem but the integrated NIC is not recognized by ESXi (tested by another user). Will the VMs be able to use the on-board NIC?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2011, 04:12 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADay2Long View Post
I see, thanks botat!

Been reading up and it seems ESXi only recognizes server grade NICs, so the Intel one won't have a problem but the integrated NIC is not recognized by ESXi (tested by another user). Will the VMs be able to use the on-board NIC?

you will not even be able to install ESXi if you don't disable it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freenas or Openfiler lcdguy Storage 2 February 9, 2011 12:07 PM
Anyone have experience with ZFS RAID (FreeNAS)? LarkStarr Storage 0 February 3, 2011 08:42 PM
Problem booting freenas from USB klaiboi O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 4, 2009 10:48 PM
Help freenas and ASUS o!play klaiboi Networking 0 November 13, 2009 04:27 PM
the orange box. belgolas Gaming 26 January 5, 2008 06:03 PM