Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 06:28 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

When its built. Have it on your desk if you can.

More dust lower doun. near the floor.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 11:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

http://www.tomshardware.com/pictures...er-supply.html

As long as your casing interior does not look anything like this you're still good . Just ground yourself to the casing will be adequate. I do use a paint brush to clean the interior of my casing regularly to avoid having dust that are caked and won't come off easily.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2011, 01:49 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

keep the hardware parts inside in a box,wear a sleeveless shirt,wash your hands,keep the cabinet on the table/desk,take mobo fix cpu and ram ,fix it in cabinet,then fix psu ,then graphics unit,then HDD ...at last check all connection ...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2011, 07:23 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
dont walk on the carpet
...not to hijack the thread, but what if all I have is carpet? I've built systems before here but I'm getting progressively more worried.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2011, 07:42 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyzac View Post
...not to hijack the thread, but what if all I have is carpet? I've built systems before here but I'm getting progressively more worried.
Don't move around all that much on the carpet, and if you do need to move around, make sure you ground yourself to the case after each trip to the fridge.... ;)

It's all about ensuring that your body (and thus anything you are holding) is at the same potential (charge level/polarity) as the case.

It's not something I'd beat myself up over these days, but if a person is concerned, an anti-static strap wouldn't be a bad idea if building on carpet. One of the other things to avoid is removing pieces of clothing without actively grounding yourself afterwards. Removing clothing can create a lot of static buildup.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2011, 10:45 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyzac View Post
...not to hijack the thread, but what if all I have is carpet? I've built systems before here but I'm getting progressively more worried.
Impossible I say! Your kitchen mustn't be carpet? Assuming your kitchen is of adequate size, the counter can be fairly ideal building place ;) Typically a good working height when standing.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2011, 12:22 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Impossible I say! Your kitchen mustn't be carpet? Assuming your kitchen is of adequate size, the counter can be fairly ideal building place ;) Typically a good working height when standing.
No but there's not enough free counter space to fit even a microATX tower. I build on my dining room table, which is carpeted.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2011, 12:48 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyzac View Post
No but there's not enough free counter space to fit even a microATX tower. I build on my dining room table, which is carpeted.
Carpeted dining table? Now that's something that I have not heard of . I am not too sure but if I am not mistaken synthetic based carpets are not prone to static electricity as it is the natural materials like wool that causes a lot of static electricity.

If all else fails I think you can wear a pair of surgical glove while assembling your PC. That way you isolate the static electricity to yourself from the electronic components with an insulator. There is also anti static glove which is like synthetic nylon-ish cloth but it is rare and I have not seen a pair outside of a factory but I have worn a pair before.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2011, 01:58 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

My biggest fear is spilling my wobbly pop all over my build!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2011, 02:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

any carpet will make you zap things.

especially synthetic. i got no carpet in me building room. nada.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 300w enough for my setup? Should I be worried? Cowboy Power Supplies 15 March 1, 2011 04:26 PM
There is Sand in my bridge, new build N.E.A New Builds 13 February 14, 2011 04:23 AM
Worried I have have damaged by board ToXic Troubleshooting 4 December 4, 2010 04:31 AM
Is anyone worried about the psyko 5.1? Technokat Audio 3 July 22, 2009 02:35 PM