Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2011, 12:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

ugh 2 days, got back anyways, not sure if it was done (the left a diagnostic cd in the drive) or not but they repaired windows (some of the files were corrupted) and said it seemed to work fine, while i was there i purchased a vantec multimedia card reader (which installed nicely though only mounted with 2 screws), started it up and ram counted fine (no pause, was accurate) made it to desktop and it bluescreened with (as interpreted by bluescreenview:

==================================================
Dump File : 042011-19156-01.dmp
Crash Time : 20/04/2011 1:39:13 PM
Bug Check String : PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
Bug Check Code : 0x00000050
Parameter 1 : ffffffff`fffffff3
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : fffff800`02f523de
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : ntoskrnl.exe
Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+80640
File Description : NT Kernel & System
Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Company : Microsoft Corporation
File Version : 6.1.7601.17514 (win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)
Processor : x64
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\042011-19156-01.dmp
Processors Count : 4
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 275,568
==================================================

rebooted (ram count pause is back as before and count overshoots the mark before reporting 4095MB usable of 4096MB total... as it did before) went into safemode or tried to, didnt make it before it rebooted itself and loaded windows as normal...

damn glad this waste of time didn't cost me anything other than the addition of the card reader...
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2011, 12:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 105
Default

If it was working for the Service Dept., there is an off chance that one of your peripherals that you didn't take with you is causing the problem. ex. keyboard, mouse etc. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2011, 12:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonzo View Post
If it was working for the Service Dept., there is an off chance that one of your peripherals that you didn't take with you is causing the problem. ex. keyboard, mouse etc. Just a thought.
Sadly, if it was that easy I would have figured it out by now.

I am wondering if it could be the graphics card somehow, as they don't use HDMI to connect their monitors... they use a DV-I one.

edit (4212011):

when I was in today I did show the guy the basic wired MS mouse and keyboard combo that I use (they had one of those $32 boxes on the shelf)...
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Last edited by batkinson001; April 21, 2011 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2011, 02:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

took the system back in today since I got called into work this morning... They wont do a refund but will stress test all hardware... now all I can do is wait. though if they come back and say that there is nothing wrong, I will be very annoyed with them.
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2011, 11:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

got the computer back... first thing it does is:



bluescreenview dump contents:
==================================================
Dump File : 042711-15990-01.dmp
Crash Time : 27/04/2011 12:56:30 PM
Bug Check String : ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY
Bug Check Code : 0x000000be
Parameter 1 : fffff880`013a6530
Parameter 2 : 7b900000`038f0121
Parameter 3 : fffff880`08a3a910
Parameter 4 : 00000000`0000000b
Caused By Driver : Ntfs.sys
Caused By Address : Ntfs.sys+14b530
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\042711-15990-01.dmp
Processors Count : 4
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 275,568
==================================================

I then restarted the computer as it should normally start...


Here is the summary according to the invoice of what these guys did:

Ran Memtest 1.5 days - no errors

Ran HDD Test - no errors

Ran IE on Active Website 1.5 days
(dunno what this is)

Ran CPU stability test 1 Day - no errors
- test 4 threads with K10 specific test
(the program they used, which they said was "specifically for my cpu" is called systester-1.1.1-win64-k10 according to the folder on my win desktop)

Checked SLEEP settings and returned settings to proper shutdown

Restarted system over 20x - no errors

Conclusion - NTF - possible Software or Sleep settings causing Failed Boot.


They also said that they reset my BIOS.

It is possible that Prime 95 64-bit was not completely compatible with AMD systems or this specific cpu...

I did ask the guy if they fired it up today and he said he didn't have time, I then asked him if we could fire it up while I was there at the service counter (all the necessary cables were there) and was told no.
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Last edited by batkinson001; April 27, 2011 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2011, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

well, I did what Bestbyte seemed reluctant to so, I replaced some of the hardware, specifically the psu and the ram, I went with the Enermax Naxn 750w PSU and a pair of 2GB Kingston Value Ram DDR3 that was listed in the manual for my motherboard, and it is working fine (no issues at all on startup that it told me about anyways), i have done a little stress testing of the system and rebooted the system once and sofar so good.

also uploaded pics to facebook. i used the twist ties (not too sure about using velcro straps inside of a computer) to coil up 2 unused hard wired connectors but with nowhere to put them they are sitting where the bottom mount case fan would be if i had one.

if the title of my sig doesn't work, here it is:

New Gaming Computer 2011 | Facebook
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2011, 07:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear you're up and running. On top of the original cost of your pc, how much extra did it cost you to finally get it in working order? I'll bet my bottom dollar that the techs never swapped one piece of hardware to to see if it was a hardware issue. It's so strange how all the problems just disappeared after the ram and psu were changed.

It is not advisable to use twist ties inside a computer if you have something else on hand to use. All it would take is a bit of exposed wire on the twist tie to contact the mb or the backside of your video card and poof! Velcro is non conductive and that's why they were supplied with your psu. Enjoy your new build!
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2011, 07:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
Glad to hear you're up and running. On top of the original cost of your pc, how much extra did it cost you to finally get it in working order? I'll bet my bottom dollar that the techs never swapped one piece of hardware to to see if it was a hardware issue. It's so strange how all the problems just disappeared after the ram and psu were changed.

It is not advisable to use twist ties inside a computer if you have something else on hand to use. All it would take is a bit of exposed wire on the twist tie to contact the mb or the backside of your video card and poof! Velcro is non conductive and that's why they were supplied with your psu. Enjoy your new build!
I did not know this I thought since they were fabric of a sort that they would create static... which i do know is bad. though withthe twist ties they are nowhere near the motherboard (bottom of case & on right side of case for the cd drive sata power wire so it doesn't get caught by the side panel (will pickup zip ties tomorrow)...

as for the problems, time will tell, I will know for sure tomorrow when i boot it up in the morning. I just wish I hadn't had to spend another $170 after taxes to *fix* it
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2011, 08:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

After all that misery, I'd never set foot inside that store again if I were you. Now you can look forward to your next build. You'll probably do a better job than the so-called techs that built, tested and TRIED to fix your NEW pc that THEY sold you. I'm not too fond of their return policies either. I checked out their website. I guarantee that after you build your first pc, you'll never go back to store bought ever again.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2011, 08:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
After all that misery, I'd never set foot inside that store again if I were you. Now you can look forward to your next build. You'll probably do a better job than the so-called techs that built, tested and TRIED to fix your NEW pc that THEY sold you. I'm not too fond of their return policies either. I checked out their website. I guarantee that after you build your first pc, you'll never go back to store bought ever again.
lol true. this is actually the 2nd pc in 7 years from there. my only complaint with the new parts is the metallic smell in the air... I am told it will go away in a few days but it is quite annoying.
__________________
CUSTOM TOWER 2K11:
Motherboard: Asus M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2Ghz
RAM: 8 GB DDR3 (4x 2GB) Kingston Value Ram KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
GRAPHICS: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 1GB PCI-E
HARD DRIVE: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 6Gb/s 500GB (Model ST3500413AS)
DVDRW Drive: Samsung SH-S223L/RSBS DVDRW 22X SATA Lightscribe Retail
CASE: Cooler Master RC-P100 (USP 100) Black/Red
POWER SUPPLY: Antec Truepower New 650 - TP-650
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
build , comp , system , temp , temperature

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 in February 2011 DRYJESUS Rumor Mill 65 July 13, 2011 12:31 PM
Vista Security 2011 virus removal (aka Xp and Win7 sec 2011) Jeff1961 Off Topic 15 April 28, 2011 09:02 PM
Chimp Challenge 2011 BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 March 20, 2011 04:54 PM
Intel CES 2011 zoob Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 5, 2011 11:35 PM
2011 And Still Sharing Lanes? Luay79 CPU's and Motherboards 17 January 4, 2011 11:30 PM