Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default What cpu should I have for radeon 6970 HD

Hello, I am currently thinking about buying a Asus 6970 HD and a AMD AM3 Phenom II x4 955 3.4Ghz Quad Core. I was just wondering if that CPU would bottle neck my Graphics card. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 09:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hey. welcome around

could you post your system's full specs?

major bottlenescks happen,usually,at lower resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Well this is everything I plan to buy and build.
Case - PCCool Thunderstorm 3000 Midi Tower Case
CPU - AMD AM3 Phenom II x4 955 3.4Ghz Quad Core
Graphics Card - Asus 2GB 6970 PCI-E VGA Card
RAM - PQI 6GB Kit(2Gx3) DDR3 1333 RAM
PSU - Antec TruePower TP-750Watt PSU
HDD - Hitachi 3.5" Deskstar 1TB SATA
Mobo - Asus M4A87TD-USB3 AMD3 4x DDR3/6x Sata Raid/Gigabit Lan
OS - Microsoft MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
DVD RW - LG SATA Black DVD RW
Moniter if it's really needed - Asus VH242H 23.6inch Wide 5ms 1920 x 1080P HD DVI Speakers

Thank you for your help :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:32 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hmmm...nope :)


get a 2500k on your choice of asus or giga board. biostar and asrock are fine too
for the budget :)

1 6950 2gb ,wether it unlocks or not
2x2 or 2x4gb kit ddr 1600

the psu is fine but a bit overkill for one video card

get one wd black or samsung f3 for os, 2tb for storage if needed. you can add that later
as for case look for a haf 912
if you have an older monitor, with lower resolution then do get something newer,like the above.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

in short, yes, any quad core will feed a 6970 fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

So everything i've picked is fine, Because it's only costing me $1256 in Australian dollars. But it won't bottle neck anything. Thanks for the help, Much appreciated. :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 02:33 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i had a better link but this will do for now :

http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i...600k-review/20


Intel i5-2500K Sandy Bridge

the above is a nice build, but if you shift things around, you can get better cpu performance.

the 6970 is not exactly a very good bang per buck, the 6950 is a better one :)

either way, happy building!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 03:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

Go for a dual channel Ram kit instead of your triple channel kit you have in your list.

Something like the 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz DDR 3.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 11:42 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I am curious as to why most people go intel instead of AMD? to me I would think that the PC components are all good but that is just me .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

because it performs better :) costs more, but not a lot more than a top amd chippie.
when sb came out i thought it wouldnt make a difference at higher resolutions where usually the gpu
is king...well,not quite :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-Reference 6950/6970? CMetaphor Video Cards 22 April 8, 2011 05:13 AM
AMD Radeon HD 6970 and HD 6950 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 120 January 7, 2011 06:13 PM
Happy Holidays from AMD - Many Radeon HD 6950 Reportedly Unlock to HD 6970 mikellini Press Releases & Tech News 14 January 6, 2011 12:01 PM