Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:56 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,382

My System Specs

Default

All I have ever seem is the stuff on paper the numbers look good but it is like having a huge SSD drive sure you boot allot faster but for practical applications and even most gaming there doesn't seem to be that much of a greater improvement . mind you I have the most powerful intel processors I owned anything but a e8400 and a q6600 I notice that in some applications and games that those processors seemed to not perform as well as my 955 be with every else the same ( of course except for the mb lol) .
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 01:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

There is very minor improvement with Intel CPUs in real-world benchmarks at stressful resolutions. It does also depend on the game played too. Usually the best performance per dollar is AMD and Intel takes the high-end performance crown. But we all know Dan is an Intel fanboy :P
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 03:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
There is very minor improvement with Intel CPUs in real-world benchmarks at stressful resolutions. It does also depend on the game played too. Usually the best performance per dollar is AMD and Intel takes the high-end performance crown. But we all know Dan is an Intel fanboy :P
actually an amd fan :p

but intel does take the top spot,so i build with them...

ati fan as well, but they dont fold as well as the nv ones so i use them less:)



either way, top right now is intel, bang per watt etc.

when dozer hits,well,itll be something else :p
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 04:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
in short, yes, any quad core will feed a 6970 fine.
True maybe for the current generation and on games that aren't heavy RTS... AMD's first generation of quads (Phenom 9XXX line) could bottleneck a 6970 - I remember gaming with a Phenom 9500 (2.2 GHz) and it was slower on poorly-optimized games than an Intel Core2 DUO at the same clock speed.

That said, AMD improved a lot going to the Phenom II line, so you should be fine with a Phenom II 955 unless you play the original Supreme Commander with too many AIs. That game slowed down my OC'd Intel 2500K before I RMA'd my P67-B2 board
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-Reference 6950/6970? CMetaphor Video Cards 22 April 8, 2011 04:13 AM
AMD Radeon HD 6970 and HD 6950 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 120 January 7, 2011 05:13 PM
Happy Holidays from AMD - Many Radeon HD 6950 Reportedly Unlock to HD 6970 mikellini Press Releases & Tech News 14 January 6, 2011 11:01 AM