Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2011, 07:49 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default New 2nd Rig

So yeah from the Acer Left over i had for the G-ma's PC i built one then a friend of mine from his work had a broken down brand new pc which he was gonna throw out so i took it instead, the pc kept freezing during 5min of Windows, problem was 1 of the 2 OCZ DDR3 sticks was faulty :P

So here are the Specs from the rig :

AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.0Ghz 2MB / Coolermaster 101a( Hopefuly to find a cheap Phenom II X4 965BE or X6 1055t )
*** Update, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition / Artic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro Bought and Installed ! ***
Asus MA88TD-M / USB3
Kingston Hyper-X DDR3-1600 2x 2GB
Diamond Radeon HD 4890 1GB GDDR5 ( Upgrade from the X1900XTX )
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA3
Pionner DVD-RW SATA
Ultra LSP 550W ( Upgrade from Antec Tru-Power 380W for Dual PCI-Ex Connection and more Power for the 4890 )
Viewsonic VE150m ( Traded for a Asus P4P800SE / s478 3.0Ghz / 2x 1GB PC-3200 :P )

So here are the pic finished built :

From X1900XTX / Antec 380W


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

To the New and Final Built


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?

Last edited by r0k0; April 8, 2011 at 03:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:31 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

little update... i've bought a Artic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro... let me say Silence and Power in 1

The coolermaster Hyper 101 kept idle and browsing at 28-32 degres / Prime 95 Tortuse 10hrs 42 degres max i saw coming out of it

Now with the AC Freezer, idle and browsing 19-22 degres / Prime 95 Torture, its been 6hrs now and it hasnt passed over 27degres yet :P

and added some Artic Cooling Matrix Thermal paste on my HD4890 threw the temps idle around 6 degres :P
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:34 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

here are the picture of the massive cooler from Artic Cooling :P


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 11:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that is really nice.

clean too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 12:45 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Dan... that the best from my knowledge i can actually get it clean like that... :P
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 12:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

:)

its interesting though how that little antec powered that big bad juice drainer all these years!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2011, 02:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default

Nice. Wish I could get a decent second PC for free. Looks good and nice additions to the build.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2011, 02:39 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Bump little update.... kinda depressed but hey :P

installed a Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition in the the rig and its score 18654 in 3D Mark 06 when my main rig only puts down 18009 :(

playing BFBC2 gets me 80+ FPS on all high BFOA and VSync off :(

2nd rig is now more powerful than the main with a smaller / single GPU compared to the 5970 2GB :P
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2011, 03:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
Bump little update.... kinda depressed but hey :P

installed a Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition in the the rig and its score 18654 in 3D Mark 06 when my main rig only puts down 18009 :(

playing BFBC2 gets me 80+ FPS on all high BFOA and VSync off :(

2nd rig is now more powerful than the main with a smaller / single GPU compared to the 5970 2GB :P
Limited by the Q6600 in your main rig I would say. Not that it is a bad CPU, but x4 965 is faster.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2011, 03:28 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

yup i know.. :P

Can't wait for MAC to ship me the Sapphire Pure Black mobo to go in a i7 :P

probably gonna get the i7 950, Oc 4Ghz and bam should be back up in the speeds :P
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 2nd Rig r0k0 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 0 April 5, 2011 05:07 PM
What 2nd Card ? DRZDuke Video Cards 15 June 25, 2010 06:41 AM
Looking for 2nd Monitor Signal2Noise Display Units 3 September 30, 2009 08:44 PM
2nd Rig 3DMark06 Score rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 March 13, 2009 06:15 PM
No 2nd monitor Phobia Troubleshooting 17 August 16, 2008 07:41 AM