Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 06:43 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default WHS Build

1. What YOUR PC will be used for.
Host Windows Home Server

2. What YOUR budget is.

Less posible

4. IF YOU have a brand preference.

Will go with a AMD ( I like when it's posible to help AMD a little bit)

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.

Only the case


8. WHEN do you plan to build it?

Tomorrow

9. What resolution do you use?

let's say I will not play Crysis with this one....


Ok, for the board I plan to use a GA-890GPA-UD3H or a M4A88T-V EVO or a M4A89GTD PRO , it's the CPU I don't know, an Athlon will cost me $ 60 and a Phenom $ 100, I guess as a files server an Athlon is ok.

So witch board is the best, and is it ok an Athlon

NOTE , that a Asus M4A78LT have the 6 sata I need , but the board do not have heatsink over the volrage reg. , is it important ? because I will save another $ 50

Last edited by botat29; April 3, 2011 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 06:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

either asus or giga 880/890 will the jobbe well, you dont need anything special.
cpu wise, a duallie will do but throw a quad in just in case.
since you wont be clocking or anything, do save.


ps if you were to build intel i3 (1155/56) youd be better off but hey.well except for the onboard gpu.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:04 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
........but throw a quad in just in case.
in case of what ?

this build will never see other usage than WHS,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok then go for the cheapest athlon II you can find then :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:07 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I look also at a 775 build but the ddr2 are very expensive
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

celly 3300/3400 are a great bang per buck, better on power figures than their athlon counterparts.
you can find 50-60 dollar ddr3 mobos that wil ltake them, with gma4500 video onboard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:14 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

do you have a board in mind, the only ddr3 I found are Pxx so no onboard, and I need 5 sata
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

one sec...



edit

ASUS P5G41T-M/CSM LGA775 mATX G41 DDR3 PCI-E16 PCI-E1 2PCI HDMI VGA GMA4500 Motherboard - DirectCanada

Gigabyte GA-G41MT-D3 mATX LGA775 G41 DDR3 1PCI-E16 2PCI Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard - DirectCanada


as for the number of sata ports....hmmm....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:40 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
as for the number of sata ports....hmmm....

I may be ok with 4 sata ( 1 for the OS and 2 x 2TB, for a total of 2 gb with folder duplication ) and add a sata add on card if needed later

but for $ 40 more I have an AMD solution with 6 sata + IDE , I can even put a IDE as OS and use 6 x 2 tb ( for a total of 6 tb since I duplicate all the folders )

I'm not at $ 40 near, So i guess the AMD will be my choice, what about a Semptron ? ( not sure about how much CPU power folder replication need )

and what about those voltage regulator heatsink
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:53 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

what about those thing

Newegg.ca - ASUS E35M1-M PRO AMD Zacate E350 AMD Hudson M1 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo


EDIT : not sure I will not have problem with the driver with WHS ...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS 2011 RC now available , MS just sentence WHS to death botat29 Press Releases & Tech News 7 February 3, 2011 03:28 PM
WIP RM WHS lcdguy Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 18 December 16, 2010 11:16 PM
Raptor to whs?...... rob123 Storage 8 December 7, 2010 03:15 AM
ITX WHS Build recommendations - 1156/i3/6HD's/Small Case Shftup New Builds 12 June 24, 2010 04:43 AM
antivirus for WHS....... rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 22, 2009 08:53 AM