Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 07:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I'd check all connections (especially that 4 or 8 pin CPU connector that's so commonly forgotten about) and reseat (remove and put back in) the CPU before calling it DOA.
Also there should be no reason to pay a restock fee for a defective product...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 07:57 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,249

My System Specs

Smile New Build

I would consider doing away with the Raptor drive and get a good SSD for your os, then perhaps a 2nd hdd like the WD 1tb Black. Much faster than the raptor drive, and the Black is surprisingly fast as well.

Good luck with your build and resulting system.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 09:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I'd check all connections (especially that 4 or 8 pin CPU connector that's so commonly forgotten about) and reseat (remove and put back in) the CPU before calling it DOA.
Also there should be no reason to pay a restock fee for a defective product...
It was the 4 pin connector.
I had it on backwards.
The little clip thingy goes to the back of the board.
Whodathunkit?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 09:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingfanatic View Post
I would consider doing away with the Raptor drive and get a good SSD for your os, then perhaps a 2nd hdd like the WD 1tb Black. Much faster than the raptor drive, and the Black is surprisingly fast as well.
Good luck with your build and resulting system.
I've got an SSD in my laptop, really gave it a boost.
I'm keeping the raptor, just because it's paid for.
I've been playing around with it, and must say, I'm quite pleased.
Even though it only has 2gb of ddr2 ram, it's still the fastest machine I've ever been on.
I had it overclocked to about 3.8 ghz, and it ran well.
Any higher it would blue screen.
That may change with 8gb of ddr3 that should arrive tomorrow.
I tried unlocking the extra cores, at default speeds, but it would BSOD when windows started to load.
4gb ram cost about $50.00, then add $10.00 shipping.
I got 8gb Mushkin ram for @82.00, with free shipping.
I know I don't have the best of everything, but it's the best I've ever had.
I am learning a lot building this, and see where it could become an expensive hobby.
Hobby hell, this could quickly become an addiction.
I don't really know what to do with my hard drives.
I learned today they are JBOD.
150gb velociraptor, 10,000 rpm. WEI 6.0
Seagate 500gb 7200rpm. WEi 5.8
I know the Windows Experience index doesn't mean a lot, but it can be helpful.
Just for kicks, my 8800gtx is 6.9 on the wei.
Oh, almost forgot,
Thank to all for your kind words of encouragement and help thus far.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2011, 01:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

I tried unlocking the extra cores on the 555 BE, with no success.
I've been doing some reading, and it seems AMD is trying to get the motherboard makers to take the unlocking ability out of their BIOS.
Also read you can have better luck unlocking the cores with increased voltage.
No thanks.
As it is, I have a stable dual core setup that runs at 3.6 ghz.
I could probably go faster, but I'm good for now.
So for about $350.00 I upgraded my computer with a new Mobo, 555BE cpu, 8gb ddr3, and a velociraptor hard drive.
I might have been able to do better, but I'm happy.
For now.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2011, 01:44 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

It is after all a 4 core processor with 2 defective cores locked to be able to sell it as a 2 core processor. Unlocking is one thing but many that I've seen were successful at unlocking the extra cores but they could not maintain it as it is unstable. Not too sure about AMD wanting to make motherboard manufacturers taking out that feature though. I've heard that the Bulldozer will have disabled cores as well and that might be a very strong selling point to some users who want to unlock those cores. We'll see what happens when Bulldozer comes out. For now enjoy your rig
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 11:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

If anybody is still reading this, here is an update.
I got over my shyness of raising the voltage and overclocking.
I only have 3 stable cores, and can run them about 3.7 ghz.
6 hours of prime95 with no problems.
Now who wants to buy this machine so I can get on to bigger and better.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 11:29 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

1 extra core unlocked good enough I guess. Good for another 2 years or so of use but I'm going for a 6 core Bulldozer without the worry of stability, double the core count and maximum overclocking potential.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
what to upgrade? bissa Off Topic 28 January 10, 2010 12:27 PM
Upgrade?? howpet Video Cards 2 April 22, 2009 07:33 PM
Looking for an upgrade Beermaster Video Cards 10 January 13, 2009 02:40 PM
Next upgrade? Gooses New Builds 14 October 6, 2008 08:28 PM