Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:33 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I personally hate 23" screens as they are a waste of desktop space and screen resolution.

Either go for a nice 22" or 24" and don't bother with 1080 monitors.

just curious as i have a 23" monitor, why you say this? would love some insight (in no way is this post rude or hateful)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick_brent View Post
just curious as i have a 23" monitor, why you say this? would love some insight (in no way is this post rude or hateful)
I find most 23" are 1080 monitors were 22" or 24" have more of a tendency to stay aware from those sizes.

a 1080 monitor gives you less desktop space as you'll have 1600x1080 instead of 1600x1200
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 09:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

I am somewhat uncertain that you should be using the Cooler Master GX 750W. Not exactly a good PSU to begin with. I suggest paying a little bit more for the Corsair TX 750W
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 09:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
I am somewhat uncertain that you should be using the Cooler Master GX 750W. Not exactly a good PSU to begin with. I suggest paying a little bit more for the Corsair TX 750W
We used a few of those psus before and while they aren't great they aren't bad.

They are more a 600w psu overpriced thank anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 09:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
We used a few of those psus before and while they aren't great they aren't bad.

They are more a 600w psu overpriced thank anything else.
When you said you've used a few of those you meant the GX or the Corsair? The choices they have on their websites are pretty limited. I have no preference towards Corsair though just that I suggest changing the PSU to something else besides the Cooler Master GX
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 09:51 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
When you said you've used a few of those you meant the GX or the Corsair? The choices they have on their websites are pretty limited. I have no preference towards Corsair though just that I suggest changing the PSU to something else besides the Cooler Master GX
Coolermaster.

I looked them up on Johnnys and it was stated they are nothing more than a 600w PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Actually, at the moment I'm going with the Antec TruePower TP-650
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 01:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordPraetox View Post
Actually, at the moment I'm going with the Antec TruePower TP-650
Not that bad either. Good choice over the Cooler Master GX.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2011, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Alright, so with the new information regarding Bulldozer capability on certain AM3 boards, I've been considering going for a 6-core AMD setup using a certified board. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2011, 05:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nope. get dozer on a proper dozer board. after you see a few reviews of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have to RMA my christmas gift ToXic Off Topic 0 December 25, 2010 05:15 PM
Gallery Gag Wedding Gift Arinoth Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 14 July 21, 2010 07:35 AM
To give a gift Caldezar Off Topic 2 December 19, 2009 04:24 PM
Birthday gift time! martin_metal_88 Off Topic 22 September 28, 2009 10:45 AM
Perfect Gift for WoW Players. BALISTX Off Topic 3 April 14, 2008 10:45 AM