Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 24, 2011, 09:59 AM
Rookie

Default New Gaming PC - first build

Within the next month I am planning to build a new gaming PC. As well as running all the latest games I am also looking at doing lots of sound recording and therefore getting a good sound card is very important. I would love this computer to last a long time, and just replace the occasional part when it gets outdated in the years to come.

I have never built a PC before (didn't even know what was inside one until about a week ago), and wouldn't even consider it if my flatmate hadn't done a computing course and said he would help build it. However, he built his computer 6 years ago and has completly lost track of all the latest hardware. So, I am left on my own to decide what to put in and I have been researching for about a week . Here is my build so far.

Case -Coolermaster HAF X Gaming Tower Case
Motherboard - ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Processor - AMD Quadcore Phenom II x 4 970
RAM - 2x4 GB ?????
Power Supply - Cosair Memory 750W TX Series ATX
Graphics Card - Radeon HD 6950
Soundcard - Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
CPU Cooler - Cosair Memory Hydro Series H70
Optical Drive - Samsung 12xBD-ROM/DVDRW Lightscribe
Harddrive - Samsung 1TB Spinpoint F3 7200rpm
Network Card for WiFi - ?????
So, a few questions. Firstly, I have seen many arguments about this and I still don't completly understand. Many people will ask why not use the Phenom II 1090/1100t six core processors. If most games and programmes out at the moment only support dualcore (and a few quad) is it not a good idea to get a quad that has a higher clock speed (3.5 instead of 3.2), as most of the time the two extra cores wont be being used?

Secondly, I have no idea about RAM. I'm pretty set on a 2x4 GB setup but I can't find any reviews on this at all.

Also any ideas on a cheap network card so I can pick up WiFi?