Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 08:41 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default There is Sand in my bridge, new build

hey guys i am going to build a new gaming PC tomorrow or maybe the day after. I know some of you are saying how is that possible since the products are not in stock, in my country the stores and the companies that provide them with the products decided to sell the boards till the new ones come and when they do they will replace all of the sold boards. any way here is the specs :
Core i5 2400
P8P67 Pro
Cooler Master V8
CM Haf X
Adata S599 64GB SSD will it be enough for Windows 7 64-bit and MS Office ???
Samsung Spin point F1 750 GB and i will another one in raid 0 later
Corsair XMS 3 4 GB kit should i go for 8GB or will it be an over kill ?
HEC-Cougar 700 W PSU
GTX 275 i own it since 2009 and i will upgrade soon to GTX 570
the PC will be mainly used for Gaming, Studying, watching movies and that sort of thing so will the new games such as Crysis 2 run better on 8GB memory or 4GB will do just fine ?

thanks in advance.

edit : when the new boards arrive i will replace the board with P8P67 Deluxe's equivalent.

Last edited by N.E.A; February 13, 2011 at 08:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

get the 2500k for oc'ing
yes
go 8 gigs
if you have a 64 bit os then 8 gigs
or you can keep your board and not use the affected ports...:)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

The Spinpoint F1 is an older drive (I remember getting one over 2 years ago). You should try for a newer drive for slightly better performance if you don't already have the drive already (e.g. WD Caviar Black 64MB cache, Samsung F3 if you like the brand).

My SSD with Windows 7 and all apps except for games (so that's Adobe, OpenOffice, MS Office 2010, 2 browsers, 2 e-mail programs, Windows Live suite, Acronis, and a whole bunch of other apps with an install less than 10 MB) are taking up 28.0 GB, so if you don't have many big applications the 64 GB will be fine. I use a 128 GB SSD but I only partitioned 80GB of it (saving the other ~48ish for Linux if I ever get around to setting up a dual boot).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Personally I'd take the Hyper 212+ instead of the V8 the 212+ performs similar to the vendetta 2 and as you can see here the vendetta 2 is clearly better. CPU Cooler Benchmarks - HardwareCanucks Charts

Less expensive + better = win?
unless I'm wrong about the better part but according to HWC's charts I'm not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 11:11 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
get the 2500k for oc'ing
yes
go 8 gigs
if you have a 64 bit os then 8 gigs
or you can keep your board and not use the affected ports...:)
can not i OC with the 2400 ? i am not that interested in OCing since i fried Q6600 but i think i will OC the 2400 if that is possible to 3.6
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 11:16 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
The Spinpoint F1 is an older drive (I remember getting one over 2 years ago). You should try for a newer drive for slightly better performance if you don't already have the drive already (e.g. WD Caviar Black 64MB cache, Samsung F3 if you like the brand).

My SSD with Windows 7 and all apps except for games (so that's Adobe, OpenOffice, MS Office 2010, 2 browsers, 2 e-mail programs, Windows Live suite, Acronis, and a whole bunch of other apps with an install less than 10 MB) are taking up 28.0 GB, so if you don't have many big applications the 64 GB will be fine. I use a 128 GB SSD but I only partitioned 80GB of it (saving the other ~48ish for Linux if I ever get around to setting up a dual boot).
i think the samsung will be just fine HD754JJ , i can not go higher than that since i do not want to spend more than i want. about the performance, well WD blue HD (500 GB ) perform better than that Samsung??? and i think in a couple of weeks i will get a better drive but i need the PC now so i will get what i can and i will spend more later.

edit : about the cooler i think i will stick with the V8 for the looks :D

Last edited by N.E.A; February 13, 2011 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 11:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N.E.A View Post
can not i OC with the 2400 ? i am not that interested in OCing since i fried Q6600 but i think i will OC the 2400 if that is possible to 3.6
Because everything on SB is tied to the bus (FSB in older terms ;) ), the older method of raising bus speeds doesn't offer much in the way of overclocking headroom. Typical bump on the bus seems to be 7 points max. Only the "K" series SB procs have unlocked multipliers which allows you to leave the bus as is and raise the mulitiplier to get a higher processor clock speed.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 11:34 AM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Because everything on SB is tied to the bus (FSB in older terms ;) ), the older method of raising bus speeds doesn't offer much in the way of overclocking headroom. Typical bump on the bus seems to be 7 points max. Only the "K" series SB procs have unlocked multipliers which allows you to leave the bus as is and raise the mulitiplier to get a higher processor clock speed.
so no OCing with the 2400, i can live with it till the new boards come and i think when that time comes i will be able to get i7 2600k or if not the 2500k will be good too. i used to love OCing but since i killed the Q6600 @4.4 (air Cooled) i think i will not OC that high even if i can
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you can still ok but intel says youll fry things if you push the bus.

multi's only...for 20 bucks more its a no brainer really.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 01:17 PM
N.E.A's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
you can still ok but intel says youll fry things if you push the bus.

multi's only...for 20 bucks more its a no brainer really.
i know but it is out of stock right now and the only unlocked CPU available is 2600K so when the new boards are out i think intel will continue shipping the CPUs as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandy Bridge build, need advice? trippindeath New Builds 10 February 1, 2011 01:12 AM
A newb's Sandy Bridge build Ikuorai New Builds 14 January 29, 2011 04:51 PM
First build, Sandy Bridge Atmax New Builds 6 January 26, 2011 03:46 PM
My Sandy Bridge Build Eluder New Builds 24 January 17, 2011 06:42 PM