Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 6, 2011, 02:01 PM
Rookie

Default Zotac H55-ITX motherboard

Hi all, this is my first attempt to build a home server. So I followed the an article in MaximumPC, but decided to include an optical drive, which they did not in their specs. Only trouble is that I can't see anywhere on the motherboard where I can connect the optical drive - the (1) PC that I built previously had a clear broad and flat connection where the optical drive cable connected - this little motherboard does not seem to have a suitable place (but there must be one!).

Thanks in advance.

Chris
Old February 6, 2011, 02:14 PM
MVP

My System Specs

It wouldn't happen to resemble this would it?

Unfortunately, IDE is a legacy connection which has been replaced with SATA. You'll need a DVD player that has a SATA connection. NCIX has a SATA DVD burner on sale for $15.99 in-store today, so if you're close to a store, you can make a run and pick one up.

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.

There are IDE to SATA converters too, but they'll likely cost more than a new DVD burner/reader anyways.
Old February 6, 2011, 02:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I assume you have an IDE drive, 9/10 mini-itx boards don't support an IDE connector and 8/10 new motherboards in general don't support it. It's an old standard and takes up a ton of space on the motherboard, simply not feasible to put it on anything but a value board meant for users with older parts.

There are IDE to SATA converters out there, but they're a little bulky for what you want to do and usually don't work very well. I'd suggest getting a new optical drive, they're only ~$20, often less.
Old February 6, 2011, 08:36 PM
Rookie

Thanks!
Old February 7, 2011, 10:21 AM
Rookie

Default does this ram fit/will it work?