Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 08:54 PM
SKW's Avatar
SKW SKW is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Valley
Posts: 56
Default Upgrade to sandy Bridges

Hey guys,

I am looking to upgrade, but not really use what to look for. I was think about going with the i5 2500K.
Completely lost what to get for motherboard and RAM. Here is what i will be using it for and such.

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.
Gaming, Programming, and maybe some folding

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
500-800

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
Canada

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.

Intel

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
everything but CPU, MB, RAM

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
Yes

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Maybe

8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
ASAP

9. What resolution do you use?
1680x1020

Thanks
SKW
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

You know that there's a major problem with SB boards ???
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:06 PM
SKW's Avatar
SKW SKW is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Valley
Posts: 56
Default

No i didnt know that.. maybe i should wait then
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

wait is my advice
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:10 PM
SKW's Avatar
SKW SKW is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Valley
Posts: 56
Default

Have they announced a date, or is this fairly new and nobody knows
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:19 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

around april... check the news section on HWC
News | Hardware Canucks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:19 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

there still working on a fix from what i understand.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:19 PM
SKW's Avatar
SKW SKW is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Valley
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks for your help everybody :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2011, 09:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Yeah April at the earliest but don't be surprised if it's later.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2011, 12:33 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you can still find a board, dont ue the 'bad' ports with your hdd and youll be fine.

2500k is a hell of a value for that much hp.

go with at least 4 gigs of ram, thats if youll be running 64 bit.

for hdd, depending on budget i say try an ssd, 64 giger perhaps for os alone, a nice 1-2tb from wd for data?

for case, haf 912 and up from cooler master with lots of space.

psu wise, corsair, antec, cant go wrong.

depending on gpu used, anywhere from 500 watts and up.

and so on :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Completed Platform Upgrade: AMD Spider / Dragon to Intel Sandy Bridge frontier204 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 January 30, 2011 03:58 AM
Using 2 Bridges for Crossfire fishingfanatic Video Cards 15 May 4, 2010 10:49 AM
[FS] 3x 24" sceens for EyeFiniTy / ATI FirePro V8700/ATI HD3650 AIW/CF bridges/sli bridges ArmenianLegend Buy/Sell & Trade 20 April 7, 2010 04:36 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
Ati's Crossfire Bridges are all the same right? Dr_BenD_over Video Cards 3 July 31, 2009 03:19 PM