Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 07:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default Need a new motherboard(AMD)

I'm looking at new motherboards because my crosshair III is giving me some trouble...I was hoping you guys could recommend me some? Please, no Asus.

...I was thinking about a Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H 890GX
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

I'm in the 100-150$ price range

Last edited by Dnabb10; January 19, 2011 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2011, 11:07 PM
agniray's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 24
Default

if you need AM3 board then 890gpa-ud3h is a good choice
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 10:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 163
Default

If you're going 890 boards I'd suggest the Asus M4A89GTD Pro USB3. You can pricematch it down to $140 at local stores. Newegg has them open box as well for $95 plus $8 shipping (I have an open box unit myself).

Both very similar boards but gets the nod on every review of the 890 boards I've read. Also in a comparison between the two sitting at my desk I've found the Asus to be less flakey on the USB, and with core unlocking (if you're so inclined) as well to be moderately easier work with vis a vis overclocking. I prefer the layout of the Gigabyte board and I like the extra 2 SATA ports though.

Between the two though, I don't think you can go wrong with either.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for the advice guys :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 02:24 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 415
Default

I'm not sure what kind of problems with your crosshair III your having but if its tolerable for a while longer it might be worth waiting for one of the new AM3+ boards. Someone may know more but I dont think there will be any bulldozer support on any of the boards out right now...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 10:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Someone may know more but I dont think there will be any bulldozer support on any of the boards out right now...

Let's clarify:

Am3 processor will be compatible with am3+ motherboard.
Am3 + (bulldozer) will not be compatible with am3 motherboard.

So you will be able to use your old CPu in the new motherboard, not the opposite.
Witch is a kind of a trade off... but not perfect.
;)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 05:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Default

:) Thanks for clarifying! I ended up just going for gigabyte now...I bluescreen every half hour, it's prettty bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 09:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 163
Default

Hi Dnabb10, try powering it off, disconnecting the power cord, taking out the CMOS battery, then using the CMOS Reset on the board for 30 seconds (to be safe). Replace the battery and power cord then reboot, go to the BIOS, reset all the settings (don't forget that set AHCI setting as required, I always forget to change those back to what my OS installed with) to what's needed but don't overclock or change anything else that doesn't need to be, and then load up your OS and see if that resolves the issue.

After that you can start tweaking your BIOS settings one by one till you figure out what the issue was.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 02:09 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by proxy View Post
If you're going 890 boards I'd suggest the Asus M4A89GTD Pro USB3. You can pricematch it down to $140 at local stores. Newegg has them open box as well for $95 plus $8 shipping (I have an open box )
I totally agree with that suggestion. I am running this MB and it's excellent.
__________________


Last edited by Wurmer; January 22, 2011 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 04:26 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

I got a 880GMA motherboard still BNIB if your still looking for a cheap motherboard, it's pretty nice and was going to go into my HTPC build but I needed more sata slots and more PCI-E1 slots :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard's : AMD which one is better! trayton CPU's and Motherboards 8 March 21, 2010 02:45 PM
[WTB] Amd 939 motherboard Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 26, 2009 08:07 AM
[WTB] AMD 939 Motherboard FiveNines Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 25, 2009 07:07 PM
[WTB] AMD AM2+ and Motherboard elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 22, 2009 04:22 PM
AMD 770 Motherboard Help BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 2, 2008 08:10 AM