Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 11, 2011, 07:46 PM
Rookie

Default Budget Build help?

I was hoping some people on this forum could help me build a budget PC I am not very good with making sure all the parts are compatible with each other and what would be the best for what I need so if I make a fairly detailed list of things anyone interested can help me by putting a build together for me to look at.

I am confident I can build it once I order all of the parts so don't worry about that I want to build my own.

What it is for: Light Gaming (Portal 2, Call of Duty games, Left 4 Dead, WOW & RS) Not looking to run Crysis type games on Max but I would like to run the listed games on high quality 1920x1200.

But the main use will be for internet use like Youtube & Facebook and I will need to use it for school work.

My Budget it $1000. But I have been told I could probably get this kind of PC for $600-800.

Here is some stuff I have looked at but not sure on compatibility and stuff:

Mother Board: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3P
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 460
HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB
Cooler: CM V6 GT

Not everything I know, but I don't know what kind of Power PSU I would need and I am not even sure if those are the best parts for what I want on a budget so feel free to change "Everything" lol.

Thanks!
Old January 12, 2011, 06:10 AM
Top Prospect

For cases on the budget, you can't go wrong with a Silverstone PS04B or PS05B case.

I always recommend getting an Antec, Corsair, or SeaSonic power supply as they have awesome units! For your setup, I'd recommend a 500W if you stay with a single gpu or a 700W if you got plans for a 2nd gpu in SLI.

Any 4/8GB DDR3-1600 kits from Corsair, G Skill, Mushkin or Patroit will do you great

Any dvd drive from Asus, LG, Plextor or Samsung will do you great

Good luck with your build and enjoy the new machine