Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 09:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default More RAM vs. Tighter Timings

Hi Everybody,

Just a quick question. Doing a build with a 1090T and M4A89GTD Pro and have a choice between two kits of RAM to use. Was wondering what kind of difference I'd see, and which would be better between:

Corsair XMS3 3x2GB 1600MHz CAS7 1T, down clocked to 1333MHz and tightened timings

OR

Mushkin Silverline 2x4GB 1333MHz CAS9

Any useful input would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 11:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

the rule of thumb is that more ram beats all. but if you're not going to USE 8 gigs of ram...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default

Yep, that's usually my rule of thumb as well, I was just wondering how much of a performance boost tighter timings and 1T command rate would have on performance, versus an extra 2GB of RAM.

On a side note, the 1090T is stable at 4GHz (20x multipliler) and 1.3825V, in the process of lowering the VCore in increments now to see how low it can go before it becomes unstable =).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 03:11 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

Do you think you could make used all of the 6GB available?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 04:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

Games will like higher memory speeds over timings fyi. I forget the math off the top of my head, but you can calculate the exact time it takes for each access with RAM as a function of speed and inverse timings (I think). As long as the time is the same, just pick the highest clock speed for gaming (with it's paired up timings). 6GB is what I'd call the sweet spot where 90% of the time it will be more than games use.

Since 6GB is almost always enough, I'd go for faster 6GB over slower 8GB. The other option is to buy extra RAM to turn into your "swap" or paging file and that will speed up your system slightly when it does use more than 6GB of RAM. I don't think it's really worth using RAM as a paging file once you have that much installed... it's only really for if you have 4GB or less imo.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 04:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Are you planning on running one of the 3X sticks in single channel mode? AM3 spec is dual channel.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 06:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,881

My System Specs

Default

Yeah there isn't really any point to 3 sticks of memory. Buy 2x2gb or 2x4gb. Dual channel will kill 3 sticks in single channel.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 06:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default

Hmm, sswilson and Bond007, I was wondering about that, I've always thought/read that dual channel only really gives about a 5% boost if that to an AMD system. I've been reading over at the Gigabyte forums, and for RAM with their motherboards the Gigabyte staff were advocating downclocking to 1333MHz (something about potential damage over that which seemed kinda like malarky to me) and tightening the timings. They also suggested running in unganged mode over dual for overclocking. I'll have to dig up the threads. I figured while I have this system at my desk I could experiment a bit and see if there were any real benefits, though I'm a bit lazy to do a bunch of benchmarks.

Pansophic and draemn, I don't know, I have a dev laptop with 4GB RAM on it, and I disabled the page file in favour of memory because of the performance hit from high hard drive I/O when compiling. I frequently get up to 4GB if I'm not careful as to what's running, but then again this is on an old T7200 clunker. But yeah, I was thinking 6GB would be more than enough for now.

Question is Dual Channel 1333 CAS9, or Single Channel 1333/1600 CAS6/7 1T =). I'll have to try and dig up that formula you mentioned draemn.

Thanks for all the input guys =).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good ram timings? kuziwk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 31, 2010 11:58 AM
RAM timings... little help please. somecanadianguy RAM 3 November 19, 2009 06:14 PM
What is beter, higher ram freq or tighter timings? Gameplaywarrior RAM 30 December 9, 2008 08:36 PM
What do the 2T mean in some ram timings Gameplaywarrior RAM 2 October 17, 2008 04:24 AM
tighter timings or higher speeds thetallone RAM 5 July 6, 2007 07:39 AM