Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2011, 07:59 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

If you aren't offering tech support, just a pre-built computer. There will be less hassle in the long run.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2011, 08:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

Starting to get some ideas:

Gigabyte GA-880GM-D2H AMD880G mATX - Back to this great board :P. $89
AMD X3 445 & OCZ Gold 4GB - Pretty decent price on this bundle. $127
APEX tX-381-C - Nice small cheap case if I don't get one for $20 on kijiji. $38
Corsair CX430 Nice $20 MIR if they send it to me and price match with canadadirect. $34
HDD is still up in the air as I'm debating going Segate 500GB drive. $42
Optical drive $20

Well, that's all the components I think, not set in stone by any reach. Any thoughts on if the AMD X3 will be worth the extra power, especially considering 2 years down the road? It really pushes me past the $300 price. Any suggestions on if there is a *reliable* PSU under that price or a PSU/Case combo under $70 (with tax and shipping)? The PSU/Case combos I've browsed (below my price) have all had sketchy a PSU.

So, I'm looking at $350.5 with taxes and shipping if I don't get a used case... I guess I'll get a 500GB and maybe not get an energy efficient drive (if I stay with the X3 445).

As I said in a random post, this is more for fun and that's why I'm not looking to buy a $400 dell computer (or similar).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just for fun
So, why not compare the cheapest Dell just for fun?
Proc: AMD X2 240 vs AMD X3 445
OS: Win7 Home premium 64 vs Win Vista HP 32
Mem: 2GB DDR3 1333 vs 4GB DDR3 1066
HDD: 320GB 7200RPM w/smart cache vs undecided 500GB
Warranty: 1 year basic service plan vs Warranty on parts
Bloatware Minimum (according to website) vs No bloatware

Everything else is the same, except mobo, psu, & case are not compared.

Price: $430.50 vs $340

Last edited by draemn; January 4, 2011 at 09:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2011, 08:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

You have DDR3 RAM and a DDR2 motherboard. DDR2 is expensive, so I suggest you swap to a newer motherboard.

Granted my Antec + PSU combo was a bit expensive, but it's durable. If they bang that Apex case around at all, it's going to get beaten up quickly. This one PC I built for a family friend, I swear he must drop it off the desk every day. It was one of these cheap, thin-gauge steel cases and you can tell it's been abused. Side panels barely fit on anymore. Totally up to you though. You're trying to build a "high-quality" system for cheap, so corners get cut somewhere. Though to me, any PC you buy in a big-box store, looks better than any cheap case you can buy.

And honestly, I don't think the X3 will make any difference at all. X2 would be fine for years to come IMO. My grandparents are on a X2 5000+ AM2 for the past couple years now with no complaints and only 1GB of RAM. You'd gain more performance putting Windows 7 on it than buying a X3.

As for not providing tech support... I'm sure they'll still phone you ;)

Just as an example: Acer Desktop AX3400 featuring AMD Phenom II X4 810 Processor Gaming Computer with 23" LCD Monitor : Desktop Computer Packages - Best Buy Canada
$600 gets you a Phenom II X4 810, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 23" LCD, keyboard, mouse, slim-line case, Windows 7 and even a dedicated HD5570 GPU.

Hard to beat that, but I know the feeling. It's far more fun to build a system then to buy one.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2011, 09:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You have DDR3 RAM and a DDR2 motherboard. DDR2 is expensive, so I suggest you swap to a newer motherboard.

As for not providing tech support... I'm sure they'll still phone you ;)

Just as an example: Acer Desktop AX3400 featuring AMD Phenom II X4 810 Processor Gaming Computer with 23" LCD Monitor : Desktop Computer Packages - Best Buy Canada
$600 gets you a Phenom II X4 810, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 23" LCD, keyboard, mouse, slim-line case, Windows 7 and even a dedicated HD5570 GPU.

Hard to beat that, but I know the feeling. It's far more fun to build a system then to buy one.
That sucks... I totally checked the memory to make sure it was compatible and the speed was... but I totally missed the DDR2 vs DDR3 thing... ouch. That will increase the price by about $15. Well, at least I can get that gigabyte one that comes with smart6 for one click unlocking attempt. Sadly when you buy a budget machine, M$ doesn't exactly offer a budget OS, so no win7 for this puppy.

I think the whole X3 vs X2 thing will be an upgrade from their atom powered laptops , but I'm thinking about the extra core(s) for future multi-threaded use.

Yep, they will ask for help when I go for a visit... I just fixed both their laptops :P I know at the budget range it's almost impossible to beat pre-built systems, especially when you factor in OS and tech support.

Last edited by draemn; January 4, 2011 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 09:23 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Unless they're avid video editors, I see no point in an extra core. Internet browsing and Office work isn't ever going to need more than a single core IMO. If it does, then they've become extremely unoptimized.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 12:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

AMD Althon II X2 250 - I might consider stepping down to dual core. $62.50
Asus M4A78LT-M LE - Any thoughts? I can do local pick-up to save shipping, but I'm not sure if the Radeon HD 3000 IGP is sufficient. $64
or
Gigabyte GA-M68MT-D3 mATX - Again only a nvidia 7025 IGP, any thoughts on another low cost option? I can try to price match bestdirect to get: $58

2GB Kingston valueRAM DDR3 1333 - Not officially supported for the gigabyte board, but it will probably work. $30

I'll have to do some looking into the lower graphics solutions to see if they are adequate or not. I was just going to stick with nvidia 8 series or higher or AMD 4000 or higher (or intel 4000 or higher) to be safe.

Last edited by draemn; January 5, 2011 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 12:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

whatever you do, go giga for board. they shine all the was down to the cheapest around. even if itll only save you 5 bucks. unless the person specifically asks for asus or evga or such? giga all the way, very few headaches.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 12:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,220

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
whatever you do, go giga for board. they shine all the was down to the cheapest around. even if itll only save you 5 bucks. unless the person specifically asks for asus or evga or such? giga all the way, very few headaches.
I've heard mixed about ASUS. I know they have a great high end line, but I've heard a lot of people complain about them too. I agree that you can't go wrong with the QC of gigabyte.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 01:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: at home
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

I may help you that you can unlock with some 2x and 3x hidden cores so you actualy buy a x2 and unlock it to a x4 but the cpu has to suport this ofcourse and the mobo but to me it looks like a good solution to the 2x or 3x just unlock it to a 4x without spending any more money

Ps i have some links here

ASRock UCC [Unlock CPU Core] suported asrock motherboards can be found here
but watch out there are also some motherboards listed that dont support the ucc thing

ASRock UCC [Unlock CPU Core] the whole explaining thing here

i only have one thing i dont know if gigabyte and others also have motherbors supporting this

Last edited by Arinoth; January 5, 2011 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 01:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I'd stick to AMD chipsets over NVIDIA but that's just me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Cheap Computer Case acameron56 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 21, 2009 02:34 PM
cheap computer AngrySaxon New Builds 1 September 10, 2009 07:37 PM
[WTB] Cheap old computer parts belgolas Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 6, 2009 01:27 PM
WTB: Stuff (I need to build a cheap, cheap computer.) S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 28, 2008 04:13 PM