Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 01:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Default Installing the CPU

Holy crap... I placed the i5-760 straight into the socket. That's all I did. I didn't feel it falling into place or anything, but the small notches on the side line up. However, when I try and push the latch on the side down, I hear this scrapping noise and I seem to need a worrying amount of force to push the latch down. Have I done something incorrectly?

Also, I couldn't seem to push the RAM directly down into the DIMM slots to the extent that the notches would automatically close. I seemed to have to push it down with, again, a worrying amount of force and then manually close the notch.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 01:14 PM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 387
Default

Memory I've put in, seems to take a bit force.

Can you determine if the scraping noise is caused by the CPU or the latch mechanism itself? i.e. does the latch by itself make the sound without a CPU chip?

It might help if you gave info on the specific motherboard and the ram you are using, for those who are more experienced than I.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 01:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Yeah sounds about right.. the cpu has no pins so all you really do is drop it in and close the latch. The processor is designed to fit the cpu socket exactly. If you see on both sides of the processors there are very small cut outs, those are there to mate with the plastic cpu socket.

The grinding noise is probably coming from the latch.

Shouldn't worry about the RAM issue, usually takes some force to get them in. As long as there intalled with both latches closed your good to go.

Last edited by vohiep84; December 23, 2010 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 01:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

All is fine.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 01:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Default

Erk... Now I'm having trouble installing the motherboard. The IO shield that came with the motherboard has these weird small metal parts that jut out. They prevent me from lining up my motherboard perfectly with the standoffs on the case. Should I bend them out at a 90* angle?

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/7752/img0228rh.jpg

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/4462/img0229q.jpg (here's a pic of my CPU. I'm worried as hell I screwed up something, because I definitely heard a scraping noise. I can't tell if it was caused by the motherboard, itself...)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 02:25 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

don't worry first time build worries is all from the sounds of it is all. have fun and injoy
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 03:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

the metal tabs... Bend out of the way... Their a pain in the ass anyways.

AS for everything else, If its seated, Boot up.

First time build are always a PITA but after that You'll think back when your on your 100th build and laugh.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 10:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver (GVR)
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

The CPU i think is alright, as long as it boots up and have a reasonable temp then there's nothing to worry about. For the RAM, sometimes even if you insert it correctly the side tabs does not close / snap into place by itself, it's ok to close them manually. As everyone else said, as long as it boots up fine then not too much should be worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2010, 08:42 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Both parts will take a bit of force to install, just make sure you've lined up your CPU correctly in the socket and haven't bent any pins.

As for RAM, it does take a seemingly inoordinate amount of force to install, but what I do is I put in one side first until it locks and then the other. If the board only has one clip, I lower it into the side that doesn't have a clip first. Always works and takes away some of the feeling of excessive force.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing OS on a netbook meistah O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 October 31, 2010 12:12 PM
Installing cpu client on two hundred E8400's. 0o0 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 June 5, 2010 09:01 AM
Turns off when installing XP Bubbzilla Troubleshooting 11 January 30, 2010 06:54 AM
Installing a new waterblock shayan288 Water Cooling 20 March 19, 2009 02:17 PM
installing OS Jim Guides & How-to's 6 January 29, 2009 12:52 PM