Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 12, 2010, 12:37 AM
Rookie

Default A New Day, A New Build

Hello!

I am rather new to HWC, but I decided I'd give the forums a shot for my new build.

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.

Gaming, surfing the web, everyday use.

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread

$600-700

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.

United States.

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.

I would prefer to use an AMD CPU, seeing as they are a little bit more value oriented than Intel. I'm open to everything, though.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.

I intend on using my current Thermaltake 650W Modular PSU (80+ Bronze, I believe). I also have an old GTS 250 lying around, but I don't intend on using it.

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.

Yes I have.

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.

I plan to do some minor overclocking to my CPU and GPU.

8. WHEN do you plan to build it?

In a couple weeks (Dec 2010)

9. What resolution do you use?

1920x1080

I have a current build in mind:

Case: CoolerMaster Haf 912
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3P
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1333 CL9
PSU: Thermaltake Modular 650W 80+ Bronze (I already own this item)
GPU: HD6850
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (I know some people who work at Microsoft, could probably get a discount)
HDD: WD Green 500GB