Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 8, 2010, 11:05 PM
Top Prospect

Default Advice/Recommendations for a nub?

Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum (though I have been lurking on here for some while), so I'd like to hi!

I think it'd also be helpful to tell you Hardware-Canuckers that I have never built a computer before. This'll be my first time, and I've done what I think to be a decent amount of research regarding components and how to build a computer. I've always been following the latest hardware news and reviews, especially about video cards and CPUs, so I don't think I am a complete noob in that regard.

With that out of the way, let us proceed to the good part!

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.

I hate to say this, but I'll probably end up using what is supposed to be a gaming computer to surf the net 50% of the time.

Another 45% will be spent doing homework/schoolwork, because I have pretty extensive amount of that given my academically-heavy course load.

The remaining 5% will be spent playing games such as Half-Life 2 (damn I want to play this so bad!), Diablo 3, Guild Wars 2, and other similar games that aren't graphically super-intensive (I hope).

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread.

Well, I technically have enough money to buy a VERY, VERY nice rig, but that'll leave me no money to actually buy the games that I plan to play. So I'm looking to spend, hopefully, around 700 - 800 CAD, but will have absolutely no problem shelling up to 1000 if such a comp will last me longer and presents a better value in terms of price/performance. However, I have to include the OS too (7 Home Premium 64-bit ver.), so my true budget will probably be ~900 CAD max.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.