Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 24, 2010, 11:00 PM
Rookie

Default NCIX Black Friday Sale

Hey everyone,

In my other thread, I ask your guys opinion about buying a core i7 system or waiting till January for SB. I have decided to wait for the SB platform and will be buying most of the parts in January.

However, NCIX (the store I will be buying every part) is having a black friday in warehouse sale (only in Vancouver) on friday and thought it would be a smart move to buy all the parts that aren't SB related (case, PSU etc.).

Out of all the parts in a build, what will not be SB related parts? I am new to building desktops and would like to know what parts I can/should buy if there are potential savings. I hear that even SSD (new ones) will be released in Q1 2011?

Thank you for the inputs.

Thank you
Old November 24, 2010, 11:29 PM
Allstar

My System Specs

It looks like sandy bridge will be using standard ddr3 memory so the only think you need to wait for is the mobo and CPU.

From a quick glance over this week sale I like these:

The corsair 600t case is onsale, I find it to be one of the most appealing cases on the market:
NCIX.com - Buy Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mid-Tower Case ATX 4X5.25 6X3.5INT USB 1394 4 Channel Fan Ctrl No PS - CC600T In Canada.

My favorite budget case to build in for clients(haf912 for $53):
NCIX.com - Buy Coolermaster Haf 912 Black Mid Tower ATX Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB Sound - RC-912-KKN1 In Canada.

HDDs:
WD black 1tb on sale as usual
NCIX.com - Buy Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM - WD1002FAEX In Canada.

seagate 1tb 49.99 looks like a good deal:
NCIX.com - Buy Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB SATA2 3.5IN 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB Hard Drive OEM *3YR MFR Warranty* - ST31000528AS In Canada.

DvD drive 15$: