Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default Upgrading computer

Current Specs:Core 2 quad q66004gbs ddr2 corsiar 800mhz ram680i lt motherboard650 watt powersupplygtx 260antec 900 case250 gb and 160 gb sata hd
I want to upgrade my computers motherboard, ram, and processor. I need advice on whether I should get i5, i7, or amd. I use my computer for playing demanding games such as crysis(and crysis 2 when it comes out) and basically homework. I want something that will last me another 3 years, which at that time I am going to do a complete rebuild. What should I buy? The max I will spend on all three components is 600 dollars.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you want something that will last you a long time, your best bet is to go i7. For around $600, you can pick up a pretty good combination of CPU, motherboard, and RAM. Here's an idea of what you can look for:

CPU: NCIX.com - Buy Intel Core i7 930 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.8GHZ 8MB L3 Cache 130W 45NM Retail Box - BX80601930 In Canada.
Pricematch with: Buy Intel [BX80601930] Intel Core i7 930 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.8GHZ 8MB L3 Cache 130W 45NM Retail Box
$275.79

Motherboard: NCIX.com - Buy ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA1366 DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 PCI Motherboard - SABERTOOTH X58 In Canada.
Pricematch with: Newegg.ca - ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
$199.99

RAM: NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1600C9 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Core i7 Memory Kit - TR3X6G1600C9 In Canada.
$139.99 ($119.99 after mail-in rebate)

Total cost: $615.77 ($595.77 after mail-in rebate)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 03:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hold your horses for mobo cpu and get something stronger gpu wise. do you have to buy this instant or you can wait a little bit. next ati refresh around the corner, intel cpus a month or two(supposedly)

good choices zorro up there provided, if you buy now.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 03:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

i don't want to upgrade my gpu, the gtx 260 is fine and will last me for another 3 years just fine
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 03:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolmaface View Post
i don't want to upgrade my gpu, the gtx 260 is fine and will last me for another 3 years just fine
you must be very young to think that your GPU is going to last you another 3 years.

do yourself a favour and upgrade your cpu to a Q9550, E8400, or an E8600 if you can find one cheep, buy a good HSF, OC said CPU to 3.8 or 4.0, buy a new nvidia 460. That combo along with your current equipment will keep you in the games for about the next 3 years.

the socket 775 platform may be older, but it is FAR from obsolete. your Q6600 was a great chip in its day, but the higher mhz dual cores are better for games, and currently very cheep, especially if you buy used. There is very very little real world performance to be gained by going with the i7 or i5 unless you make your living using photoshop, transcoding or 3d rendering. (notice i said "make your living" I say that because using photoshop once a month isnt sufficient enough to warrent the new platform)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0

Last edited by tzetsin; October 6, 2010 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 03:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Ya but the problem with that is I also want to turn my computer into a duel boot hackintosh, and my current motherboard doesn't work with osx. So if I'm going to change my motherboard I mighters well change to the p55 and get an i5. And I don't mind playing future video games on the lowest settings with my gtx 260.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 04:00 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Typically one would upgrade the GPU for gaming because games rely more on the video card than the processor.

Crysis 2? Run that Q6600 at least 3.0GHZ (get a Hyper 212 for $30 to achieve this), and spend your money on a GPU upgrade.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 04:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolmaface View Post
Ya but the problem with that is I also want to turn my computer into a duel boot hackintosh, and my current motherboard doesn't work with osx. So if I'm going to change my motherboard I mighters well change to the p55 and get an i5. And I don't mind playing future video games on the lowest settings with my gtx 260.
What is the native resolution of your monitor?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 04:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

oh. you want to run it as a Mac.

I suppose I could use this time to tell you how much i disapprove, but I wont. ;D

yes. If your going to buy another board anyway, go with either the i5 if you want cheep and 775 performanc, or the i7 if you dont mind spending the cash and want a little more performance. It really only comes down to money as realistically your not going to notice much of a difference either way.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 04:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

well I don't only want to run it as a mac, I just need the mac os when I need to make a movie or use garageband or something, otherwise I'm ganna use windows 7 for pretty much everything else. About the q6600@3.0 ghz, I have already overclocked it a long time ago and achieved that. My native resolution is 1680 by 1050.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading forever Upgrading nerty New Builds 6 May 8, 2010 11:28 PM
Need some advice before upgrading my old ass computer Syrax Video Cards 28 April 7, 2010 05:24 PM
Upgrading (at last) Mysteryous Video Cards 0 January 5, 2009 08:32 PM
Upgrading again....FS !!! crazyhorsejohnny Buy/Sell & Trade 35 November 5, 2008 02:31 PM
Question on upgrading computer, saving the hard drive ShinseiKen Troubleshooting 7 August 2, 2007 01:25 PM