Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 06:42 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default First Time Build!, tell me what u think!

Give opinions and suggestions pls ;D

What do u think! Good or not?

MOBO: ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - http://ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=48014



CPU: I5 760 - http://ncix.com/products/?sku=54753&...ufacture=Intel

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231277

GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 x2 SLI http://ncix.com/products/?sku=54506&...cture=Gigabyte

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB Newegg.ca - Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16817139006

CASE: HAF 932 http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16811119212

Last edited by bf1; September 25, 2010 at 12:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 06:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

welcome aboard maite.

look ok, perhaps get the 922 case wise

caviar green will be a bit slow, maybe try the sammy f3,wd black or seagate in the same gig range?

nice psu, a little bit too much for dual 460's :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 07:01 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
welcome aboard maite.

look ok, perhaps get the 922 case wise

caviar green will be a bit slow, maybe try the sammy f3,wd black or seagate in the same gig range?

nice psu, a little bit too much for dual 460's :)
oh ya, lmfao i forgot to change the Harddrive, a friend already told me that it would be a bit slow lmao, but thank you for advice ;D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 07:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no worries. intel still holds better performance per core per ghz, so a 530 on a nice sli matx giga board might work out as well. comparing vs the coolermaster 932 amd build vs cm 922 build, comes about the same. more performance, and it wil lclock to 4 ghz +- on stock cooling. dont forget a cm 212+ for cooling, monster cooler for under 25 bucks pm'ed(price matched at ncix)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:35 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

alright, thanks man
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:49 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

hm, why put 2X video card with this CPU? if you play game your CPU is gonna limit you. I would drop one of the video card, and get a X4 or a X6 instead and add another GPU later if really needed. The other part are ok. Maybe you could also look at never chipset 8XX series on AMD since the 750 is pretty old.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:02 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
hm, why put 2X video card with this CPU? if you play game your CPU is gonna limit you. I would drop one of the video card, and get a X4 or a X6 instead and add another GPU later if really needed. The other part are ok. Maybe you could also look at never chipset 8XX series on AMD since the 750 is pretty old.
lol so instead of athlon x3, athlon iix4??
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=54097&...SI%2FMicroStar

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=52682&...nufacture=eVGA

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=48959&...ufacture=Intel

price match them.

that or stick with the amd, although maybe get a model number 240/250 cpu? :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:16 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf1 View Post
lol so instead of athlon x3, athlon iix4??
No, Phenom 2 X4 or X6 or Intel I5. Athlon are the low end. Mainly made for HTPC or internet use computer.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

martin dont diss the performance per dollar of the athlon, he can get amd sli mobo+cpu for 150-160 or close. :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time build soambiatch New Builds 7 August 25, 2010 06:56 PM
$1000 Build - First time Help Cdnjunkie New Builds 10 May 7, 2010 09:40 PM
First Time Build pRefy New Builds 40 March 22, 2009 01:52 PM
First Time Build Need Help and Opinions Modestyle New Builds 35 February 28, 2009 05:30 PM
First time build CGW Troubleshooting 10 September 12, 2007 08:27 PM