Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:22 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
martin dont diss the performance per dollar of the athlon, he can get amd sli mobo+cpu for 150-160 or close. :)
its also possible to try and unlock the fourth core lmao
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:34 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
martin dont diss the performance per dollar of the athlon, he can get amd sli mobo+cpu for 150-160 or close. :)
I know that dan, but would you buy a E5300 with 2 video card? that's the point where I am blocking. Why get a low end CPU with 2 video card? that will bottleneck for sure. it's like towing a fifth wheel with a Accent GL...to be good, a build have to be balanced or suited to your need. If you want to play, you need both CPU and GPU power. here you have a lot of GPU power but low end CPU. You can for sure go for the athlon but when you will try to play high end game at high end res don't ask us why you have some lag.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:43 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
I know that dan, but would you buy a E5300 with 2 video card? that's the point where I am blocking. Why get a low end CPU with 2 video card? that will bottleneck for sure. it's like towing a fifth wheel with a Accent GL...to be good, a build have to be balanced or suited to your need. If you want to play, you need both CPU and GPU power. here you have a lot of GPU power but low end CPU. You can for sure go for the athlon but when you will try to play high end game at high end res don't ask us why you have some lag.
if using i3 530, would that still bottleneck
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:51 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

or would something like an i5750 be that much better
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i know i know. i want him to get the 530 lol.

530? no, besides games loving 4 real cores vs 2 real + 2 virtual . all around the 530 is a better performer, if budget allows of course.



edit. dont double post and youre better off not getting a quad right now. extra cash spent on other things might be better. or keep it in the pocket, nothing wrong there


The Intel Core i3 530 Review - Great for Overclockers & Gamers - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:54 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

These would be better choice, the CPU is more powerfull than a I3 530 and the price of a mobo/cpu for a I3 will be about the same of a X4 965 + the MSI mobo you listed. ( you can PM this CPU for 169 with NCIX pricematch )
http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=46...D&promoid=1223

You can also ask NCIX if they can have this CPU, would also be a nice choice. ( phenom 2 X3 instead of Athlon 2 X3 )
http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=55...anufacture=AMD

Whit any of these 2 CPU, you will have some headroom in future. The 965 have also show that in game it's a powerfull unit and, if you want some more juice out of it. OC it :P
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:58 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
i know i know. i want him to get the 530 lol.

530? no, besides games loving 4 real cores vs 2 real + 2 virtual . all around the 530 is a better performer, if budget allows of course.



edit. dont double post and youre better off not getting a quad right now. extra cash spent on other things might be better. or keep it in the pocket, nothing wrong there


The Intel Core i3 530 Review - Great for Overclockers & Gamers - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News
so an i3 530 would be the all around best choice?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

listen to martin. if you multitask his advice is better. multitask as in several heavier applications. if its just gaming? get the 530. expensive for a low end dual core, but again if budget permits go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:04 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

alright, thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 09:05 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf1 View Post
so an i3 530 would be the all around best choice?
Would definatly be a better choice. But again, I strongly suggest you to drop one of the video card and get something like a I5 760 or a Phenom 2 X6. It's a lot more easier to add a video card after the rig is up than changing the CPU because in 1 year or 2 it can't play your game like you want to.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time build soambiatch New Builds 7 August 25, 2010 05:56 PM
$1000 Build - First time Help Cdnjunkie New Builds 10 May 7, 2010 08:40 PM
First Time Build pRefy New Builds 40 March 22, 2009 12:52 PM
First Time Build Need Help and Opinions Modestyle New Builds 35 February 28, 2009 04:30 PM
First time build CGW Troubleshooting 10 September 12, 2007 07:27 PM