Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 10:54 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Alright,

Intel mobo that will be. Too bad their integrated graphics don't match the AMD ones...Always feel like bypassing any kind of Intel Integrated gfx....beurk

Also, it blows that AMD chipsets and nVdia ones don't flawlessly support SSDs without tweaks...

Ah, I know, Intel wins, it's just a little more expensive...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 10:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Alright,

Intel mobo that will be. Too bad their integrated graphics don't match the AMD ones...Always feel like bypassing any kind of Intel Integrated gfx....beurk
Why does that make any difference? You won't be using a platform that has integrated graphics.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good, now make up your mind between 1156 or 1366 :)


*looks up budget again.hmm~!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:06 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Why does that make any difference? You won't be using a platform that has integrated graphics.
Oh, just the fact that I would've liked to go 1055T (95W)+ HD4290 for cheaper. But I prefer SSD support from Intel ICHR10 and more recent controllers. Got to buy a decent GFX chip on top for an Intel system.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:26 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
Uhhhh what?

Quad core/i7 and an Nvidia GPU will go a long ways to improve processing time of filters/rendering and overall "speed" of photoshop. It uses Nvidia GPU's to accelerate processing. Don't need much, just a GT240 maybe.
Do what Sushi Warrior says!!!
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 07:58 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

So photoshop plugins are all Nvidia friendly? Are they processed with CUDA?

Oups, from Adobe's web site QUOTE:

Quote:
Photoshop CS5 and CS4 leverage the the video card's chip (the graphics processing unit, or GPU) instead of the computer's main chip (the central processing unit, or CPU) to speed some functions. Photoshop accesses and uses the GPU when the GPU:
  • supports OpenGL, a software and hardware standard that accelerates video processing when working with large or complex images, including 3D.
  • has at least 256 MB of RAM.
  • has a display driver that supports OpenGL 2.0 and Shader Model 3.0, which is used by the GPU to perform rendering effects.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; September 5, 2010 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 09:34 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Oh, just the fact that I would've liked to go 1055T (95W)+ HD4290 for cheaper. But I prefer SSD support from Intel ICHR10 and more recent controllers. Got to buy a decent GFX chip on top for an Intel system.
You're going to want a dedicated video card anyway for Photoshop's GPU acceleration.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One rig down bwm HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 January 11, 2010 11:58 PM
new i7 Rig MeDS New Builds 10 December 7, 2009 08:05 AM
New rig :) CactusJoe New Builds 51 April 22, 2009 11:57 AM
New i7 Rig Ruff_Ryda New Builds 25 April 20, 2009 03:40 PM
JD's new rig ricknash61 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 27 September 3, 2008 08:38 AM