Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 08:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default xtreme budget internet/email build

I'm building an internet/email build for someone looking to go as cheap as possible - cheap but not too slow ;)

They are upgrading from an 8+ year old athlon xp 2200, 512m ddr-400 ram.

I was looking at this e3300 biostar combo for $70
Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

add 2g ddr2-800 valueram about $45
add dvd-drive $25
reuse hardrive for now.

And use one of these cases with psu's bought locally:
MysteryByte Computers - Halifax, Nova Scotia - 902.453.2983 - $29
MysteryByte Computers - Halifax, Nova Scotia - 902.453.2983 - $42
Robotnik.com Incorporated*::*Computer Cases*::*GF 1285B Black Mid-Tower Case w/ 500Watt P/S - $45 (might be the same as the nikao above)

All adds up to about $215-$225 ish tax and delivery depending on which case I go with.

My only concern is the psu's in the cases. But the mb has integrated graphics and it would only be powering an e3300, one hardrive and one dvd drive.

Any thoughts from the nice folks here at hardwarecanucks?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:29 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The PSUs that come with those cases are not safe to use. Go with this and you'll be good: MysteryByte Computers - Halifax, Nova Scotia - 902.453.2983
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:29 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

When you say internet, do you mean Youtube and multimedia, or just plain browsing?

The Intel D510 Atom board is nice, but the integrated video is a dog... but depending on your usage, it could fit the bill!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:37 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Those power supplys only have a 30 day warranty. I've seen some from Robotnik and Mysterybyte with as little as 14 days. (they buy them from Daiwa / Elco / Comtronic in Burnside - wholesalers)

You get what you pay for. Their DOA rate from brand new is probably creeping up to the 40% mark.. when I used to purchase for another company, i've seen 50% DOA on 30 cases.
Your better off finding a $30-40 PSU under 500W on sale. Or a good used one from the for sale section.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 10:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the biostar is not rated for more than what the cpu can suck, so itll be a close call.

the psu will be fine with onboard or low end gpu such. drop a decent pci-e card in = trouble
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2010, 04:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Halifax
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
the biostar is not rated for more than what the cpu can suck, so itll be a close call.
I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, can you elaborate a little more please?

@Rison: thanks for that inside info. I may buy the $29 ccivo case just because its still cheap, and buy a better psu to go in it.

@Synth: I'm sure there will be some multimedia, and some youtube, and some videos via email, etc, probably even some video "chatting" (skype, MSN-messenger). But the intel3100 should be able to handle what they will throw at it, my parents have a dell with the intel3100 and they use it for about the same use with no problems. So I didn't want to chance it with an atom or ion with built in graphics.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2010, 12:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the link doesnt work anymore, but look on the pcb, its got a 'half phase' power for the cpu. i wouldnt oc, or put somehting bigger in there :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2010, 02:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
the link doesnt work anymore, but look on the pcb, its got a 'half phase' power for the cpu. i wouldnt oc, or put somehting bigger in there :)
The E3300 is a 65W CPU. The Biostar board is rated for at least 95W since it supports quad-core CPUs. You're completely wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2010, 04:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ill look for a pic of the pcb when i find the mobo, but it was VERY bare around the socket area. unlike low end asus, giga. usually biostar builds very good low end and not so low end products
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget Internet Computer JBM12G New Builds 9 June 13, 2010 02:11 AM
Need build advice asap for fast internet <1000 rosscopeeko New Builds 1 May 28, 2010 04:37 PM
Budget build. Epmphasis on budget. Miek New Builds 6 February 4, 2010 09:46 PM
Shaw internet (bc): anyone get an email regarding a speed increase? t0m Networking 42 February 25, 2009 08:46 AM
Budget PC Build BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 13 March 6, 2008 07:52 AM