Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 08:51 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Question Stuck...

Hello, this is my first thread on HWC, and I am glad to be part of this community.

So, I am running possibly the world's crappiest custom-built computer, and I thought I had a selection of parts made out for a new one.
This will not be my first build (far from it, more like my 13th, I believe) but I am stuck on a parts decision, specifically concerning the Mobo/Proc/GPU relationship.

My original list had:

MSI P55-GD65 LGA 1156
Intel Core i5-750
MSI HAWK Radeon HD 5770

I would love to be able to run CFX with the Hawks, but the P55 chipset only has 16 PCIe lanes. No, I can't afford LGA 1366, I would prefer to not have AMD at this budget (maybe as a last resort) but as far as I can see this leaves me with no options. Help?

If this helps, I am an avid gamer who will end up running the games listed in my sig and some others, plus need to have enough power for newer games that come out, such as MoH.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 09:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you can crossfire on p55, x8 to x16 wont make much fo a difference, at normal resolutions
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 09:44 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the forum!

If you want to CF 5770 who give a **** ABOUT 16 PCI lane? The second card on the 8X wont even be bottlenecked. So P55 is still perfect. Or if you absolutely want to have 2 then get a 5850 and OC the hell out of it it will be a better solution.

I would also concider Asus P7P55D and EVGA P55 like this one.

Newegg.com - EVGA P55 SLI 132-LF-E655-KR LGA1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard

They actually are better then MSI.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 09:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

There's nothing wrong with Crossfire using two 8x slots. At most resolutions you won't see a performance difference. However, I would recommend that you switch to a GTX 460 instead of the 5770, preferably a 1GB model. That would give you considerably more performance.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:10 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help, guys, and martin, I'll make sure to take a look at that.

I mainly went for a 5770 because of the value, a GTX 460 is a little bit much for my budget.

How big of a perf difference can I expect with x8/x8 rather than with x16/x0?

(BTW I know you can CF with 8x, it was the performance difference I was worried about.)
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.

Last edited by Reyzac; August 25, 2010 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:23 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well its more expensive but its got more humph as well. eats a bit more power, but you can probably do with that
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:35 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyzac View Post
How big of a perf difference can I expect with x8/x8 rather than with x16/x0?

(BTW I know you can CF with 8x, it was the performance difference I was worried about.)
What resolution will you be gaming at?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

I think it only matter's when running high res with high-end cards. GTX 480 SLI x16/x16 vs. x4/x4 - GTX 480 SLI PCIe Bandwidth Perf. - x16/x16 vs. x4/x4 | [H]ard|OCP
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:02 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I personally think that if you can afford two 5770, why can't you get a single 460? Less power consumption and less head aches on Crossfire.

And honestly, i would get a more "upgradeable" system (socket AM3) than the soon to die LGA1156 and spend more on graphics. Plus MoH isn't demanding at all, it is just like BFBC2 without the Destruction 2.0.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 09:54 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
What resolution will you be gaming at?
Likely 1280x1024.

Quote:
And honestly, i would get a more "upgradeable" system (socket AM3) than the soon to die LGA1156 and spend more on graphics.
The more I think about it, the more it seems like a good idea... Let's see what I can throw together, I'll be back.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck Sensor - What to do? crazyhorsejohnny CPU's and Motherboards 20 May 22, 2009 10:57 AM
WU Stuck! Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 10, 2009 05:12 PM
WU is stuck punk_zappa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 5, 2009 07:32 PM
stuck sensor? kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 March 14, 2009 12:13 AM
Need some help , stuck at 2.77 on e6400 bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 22, 2007 07:55 PM