Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 11:58 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default Has anyone ever considered AMD?

Looking to build a good quality business class machine ( not overclocked but BULLET PROOF ) but it seems every build here uses Intel. I just find that the quads are much cheaper with AMD. Am I missing something?

...and yes, I'm asking for a MB/CPU suggestion :)

AMD Athlon II X4 630 $98.00

Budget is only $600.00
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 12:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I built 3 AMD rigs and 1 Intel rig in the past year or so and AMD is definitively not a bad choice.

As for mobo, I'd look into Gigabyte or Asus (even tho both might be a little better than what you ask for). You could look at the 785G chipset or the newer 880G which both have a fairly good IGP which can play blu-ray movies (but then again it might be more than what u want).

Here is a few links:
Gigabyte 880GM-UD2H
Gigabyte 785GM-US2H if you don't mind using DDR2 (I am actually using one of those)

As for the CPU, it would be useful to know what will be done on the computer in details, but I'd say any Athlon II would work unless u enlighten us with more details.

Last edited by Kilauea; August 16, 2010 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 12:31 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilauea View Post
I built 3 AMD rigs and 1 Intel rig in the past year or so and AMD is definitively not a bad choice.

As for mobo, I'd look into Gigabyte or Asus (even tho both might be a little better than what you ask for). You could look at the 785G chipset or the newer 880G which both have a fairly good IGP which can play blu-ray movies (but then again it might be more than what u want).

Here is a few links:
Gigabyte 880GM-UD2H
Gigabyte 785GM-US2H if you don't mind using DDR2 (I am actually using one of those)

As for the CPU, it would be useful to know what will be done on the computer in details, but I'd say any Athlon II would work unless u enlighten us with more details.
The computer will be used for Excel presentation and will have a blu-ray player as well. We have a number of ARX files that we use ( AutoCad ). So basically a multimedia machine with quick app execution.

It will not be used to build any designs or gaming.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 12:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Not sure about the ARX (Autocad), but for the rest Athlon II should be plenty. Considering the prices, I think I'd go for less than an X3, I mean we are looking at less than 15$ difference between than and a similar clocked X2. The preferance would probably go for an X4 just for the sake of being able to take advantage of the multithreaded applications which may require it (However as of today, I doubt you'd notice a difference between an X2 and an X4 for what you are doing).

This Athlon II X2 250 looks really attractive at 59.99.
Athlon II X3 440 @ 76.79
Ahtlon II X4 635 @ 102.99 This one is clocked a slightly slower than the other 2.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 12:48 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilauea View Post
Not sure about the ARX (Autocad), but for the rest Athlon II should be plenty. Considering the prices, I think I'd go for less than an X3, I mean we are looking at less than 15$ difference between than and a similar clocked X2. The preferance would probably go for an X4 just for the sake of being able to take advantage of the multithreaded applications which may require it (However as of today, I doubt you'd notice a difference between an X2 and an X4 for what you are doing).

This Athlon II X2 250 looks really attractive at 59.99.
Athlon II X3 440 @ 76.79
Ahtlon II X4 635 @ 102.99 This one is clocked a slightly slower than the other 2.
The x4 it is. Price is right on that count for sure and I had a very good experience with Giga-byte is the last month but not sure about an mATX vs a standard ATX though.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 01:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

as above, ddr2 785 giga all the way, ddr3 still giga but perhaps the 870? thats a bit more for overclocking but bulletproof? pretty much as well.

are you sure you need a quad? you could go below 600. case wise, perhaps a silverstone? looks more expensive than the 50 bucks or so youll be paying. psu, corsair 400 watter will do.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 01:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Intel is used mostly because it's the best performance money can buy.

AMD is generally considered as the best bang for the buck.

I'd recommend the 890GPA chipset (from gigabyte). decently cheap ($150 I think?), solid and it has integrated video that can play those blu-rays.

I'd also get a phenom II class processor.. if you're doing anything with autoCAD it will love the extra cache the Phenoms provide over the Athlons. the Phenom II X4 955 should suffice (about $150 if memory serves)

just toss in some ram ($100 for 4 gigs, cheaper on sale) and a case + psu + hdd ($200 to play with) and you're good to go. $600 :D
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 02:16 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quick calculation:

GPA 890 ( nice board ) $140.00
AMD CPU Phenom II X4 925 $160.00
...a case without the Disco look...$90.00
...half decent powersupply...$80.00
DVD RW - $25.00
Blu-Ray player - $70.00
RAM - $125.00
Windows 7 $120.00
$740.00

Hmmm..too much...So that's not going to work.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 02:20 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

x4 620/35 is a phenom II.. still based on the same thing.

If you want fast loading aps though, a quad or dualy will not be what makes the difference, its going to based on hard drive speed, that x2 250 + a decent SSD would open any ap faster then an x4. No mater how fast your CPU is it can only open aps as fast as your hard drive will let it. Unless you doing a ton of multi tasking, or using multithreaded aps, you will never see the benefit of the x4 over the x2, infact youll probubly see a very small loss of performance because of lower clock speeds per core.

Id highly recommend you look at a cheap 785G motherboard with an IGP, I know they go as low as $70, grab that x2 250, spend some $$ on a 32-40g SSD and load the applications you need on that, but have your backups on a slower cheaper 500-1000g main drive. If you go IGP you can do with a cheaper 350-400w PSU, you dont need a corsair just dont by an Nmedia or some no name brand.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 03:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

The reason why people buy Intel boards is because they typically provide stability and reliability comparable to server boards made by great companies like Tyan and Supermicro.

I'm using a Bad Axe2 from Intel and in 3 years it has never given me a non overclock related BSOD/crash/issue. It's seen some pretty intense use too. Problem is it's not a great overclocking board and like most Intel boards, the features are fairly lackluster.

I'm not saying an AMD build wouldn't be reliable though, just putting my 2 cents out there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HAF 922 for sale. Mena Buy/Sell & Trade 56 October 9, 2010 08:11 AM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 03:31 PM
[WTB] board and cpu, preferably 4 pci-e amd but 2pci-e amd/intel will do as well _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 9 January 16, 2010 06:50 AM
Haggling prices on deals , When is it considered lowballing? WolfBane Off Topic 16 September 14, 2009 07:35 PM
This considered a high CPU temp? Song CPU's and Motherboards 34 October 31, 2007 10:50 AM