Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 08:56 AM
Khronos's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 14
Default RAM question

Hello all,

I'm currently in the process of looking to upgrade my system. It's been a while since I've paid attention to hardware, so I have a quick question regarding ram.
I'm looking at getting the ASUSP6X58D-E. It says that it can support ram that is DDR3-1333, or 2000 (O.C.). My question is this: does that mean i have to buy ram that is 1333MHz, and then I can OC it to 2000? Or does it mean I can just buy ram that is 2000MHz and it will run fine?

Thanks,

Khronos
__________________
|AMD 4800+ @ 2.5GHz|
|Gigabyte MA790X-DS4|
|2GB Mushkin HP DDR2 800 @ 4-4-4-12|
|Diamond Viper HD 3850|
|250GB WD Caviar|
|Pioneer 212D|
|OCZ StealthXStream 600W|
|Antec 900|
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2010, 10:36 AM
crowTrobot's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

It means you can buy RAM that can run up to 2000Mhz and it will run fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ddr2 ram question Cowboy RAM 3 May 29, 2009 01:30 PM
Question on ram 334th_Frenchie RAM 4 January 26, 2009 09:09 PM
question about ram Defiant RAM 7 December 1, 2008 09:34 AM
RAM Question Computergeek Troubleshooting 8 July 18, 2008 04:54 PM
RAM question Salavat23 RAM 18 December 24, 2007 08:31 AM