Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Default Stupid mistake

Hi

So I did order my new PC after discussing it here and with NCIX PC guy and now I just found out a stupid mistake, not sure if it is an issue though

the ram I ordered NCIX.com - Buy Adata Gaming Series 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit W/ Heatsink - AX3U1600GB2G9-3G In Canada.
Mobo NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ATX LGA1366 X58 DDR3 4PCI-E SATA3 USB3.0 Sound GLAN CrossFireX SLI Motherboard - GA-X58A-UD3R In Canada.

After reading some reviews I noticed this, the mobo doesn't support memory 1600... yeh..
so will it down clock? OC? no idea..
the PC is still shipping
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:11 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Yes it will clock down fine. But I also think your mobo will run 1600mhz ram. Not many x58 mobo's officially support ddr1600 but the majority of them run it by changing the divider.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:16 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yup, The memory will probably run at 1333 if you let everything no auto. but with some paying in the bios or a bit of OC you will be able no prob tu run this memory at 1600Mhz.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 11:22 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile New Builds

Most systems that I've been fortunate enough to be involved in don't always list the manufacturer that will run with their motherboard, and generally say only a few different speeds. When we've had a chance to try different speeds that weren't listed, everything worked fine except once. As a previous member stated, when you go into the bios and manually set your ram speed, I've always seen just about every speed I know of and even some I hadn't seen before.
Also, if a board will run 1066,1333 and 2000, why can't it run anything in between. I'm no expert just tried a few different things and maybe those who really know will shed some light on this as I'm curious myself to find out.
Good luck, and I'm sure everything will be just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 12:47 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,756

My System Specs

Default

I'm running G.Skill Pi 1600MHz on my X58A-UD3R. I believe the Intel official specs only go up to 1333MHz as the official top speed, but pretty much every chip can handle 1600MHz (or very close) without an overclock. Just gotta change the multiplier and put the voltages correctly and you should be good to go. I'm going to guess it's 1.65V (Gigabyte boards usually only let you do 1.64 or 1.66, which I've always chosen 1.66.) but check the sticker on the RAM itself. Should list the voltage it's rated for.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Made a little mistake ordered the wrong fan... Delavan Air Cooling 3 April 10, 2010 11:01 AM
ok this is just stupid gingerbee Off Topic 24 November 26, 2009 10:16 AM
RAM mistake, does it matter ? Kilauea RAM 6 June 16, 2009 09:09 PM
Oops! I think I made a mistake, guys! HermesĄ˘ New Builds 17 December 24, 2008 11:40 PM
NVIDIA 8800 Ultra Proves to be a Tragically Arrogant Mistake Beermaster Press Releases & Tech News 5 May 4, 2007 06:17 PM