Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 07:56 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,249

My System Specs

Smile New Builds

Socket 1366 uses the X58 chipset which is the only one which will support triple channel memory.


Edit: My bad. If you're building a server/multiprocessor board, then the Tylersburg 5500 series as Zero82z mentioned.
Thanks for the correction Zero.

Last edited by fishingfanatic; August 2, 2010 at 03:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 08:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingfanatic View Post
Socket 1366 uses the X58 chipset which is the only one which will support triple channel memory.
No, the 5500 series Tylersburg chipsets also use triple-channel memory.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 08:19 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
No, the 5500 series Tylersburg chipsets also use triple-channel memory.
Danm is this man a computer??? ahah

Same as other,
PSU : Corsair, seasonic, Silverstone, Antec
Ram : G.skill, Mushking, Corsair, patriot
GPU : ATI 5850 5870 Nvidia GTX 460 1gb
Case: Lian-li, Coolermaster Elite 430, 690 II Haf series.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2010, 03:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default Update on Specs

This is the conclusion that I have come to:

Motherboard: Gigabyte P55A-UD3 ATX LGA1156 P55 DDR3 2PCI-E 2PCI RAID
Processor: Intel Core i5-760 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core
Heatsink: Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Video: EVGA 012-P3-1470-AR GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Case: COOLER MASTER RC-692-KKN3 CM690 II Basic Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
DVD-RW: Samsung SH-S243D/BEBE 24X Black DVD Writer SATA
Speakers: Logitech 5.1 Surround Speaker System (X-540)
Mouse: Razer DeathAdder 3500 Gaming Mouse 5 Button 3500DPI
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB SATA2 3.5IN 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB
Opr. System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT DVD OEM
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS
Tv Tuner: Diamond TV Wonder 650 Theater PCI-E TV

Is this a good build compared to before?...(I know the 470 may be overkill for the system but I want to get it anyways for better performance)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 08:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 244
Default

Everything looks much better now

I would still pick the HX series over the TX series from Corsair though as they as modular units. They will not only give your tower a cleaner look on the inside but will also allow more air to move around, instead of been trapped in certain areas.

Also for around the same price of the 1 470, you could go with 2 460's in SLI, just something to consider.

Shop at NCIX and use pricematch to save some extra money.

Good luck with your build
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 08:28 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Two 460s in SLI create more heat, and consume more power than a single 470.
Two 460s are also the cap, and limit expansion - where as one 470 could be SLI'd (or tri-SLI) in the future.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xlilmissmjx View Post
Everything looks much better now

I would still pick the HX series over the TX series from Corsair though as they as modular units. They will not only give your tower a cleaner look on the inside but will also allow more air to move around, instead of been trapped in certain areas.

Also for around the same price of the 1 470, you could go with 2 460's in SLI, just something to consider.

Shop at NCIX and use pricematch to save some extra money.

Good luck with your build
What would the difference in performance be from sli 460's to a single 470 and by the way my monitor is 1920x1080 2ms
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 10:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

with the 460's? i say its worth it. theres not one single gpu card out so far that can top sli'd 460's at 1920 or above. hell even below that. heck it comes so close to a 5970, oc them lil beatsts and get up there. when i saw the review for gf104, told me bud to sell his cards fast. he wouldve lost another 200 by now lol.

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeF...es/perfrel.gif

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Zotac/GeFo...er_maximum.gif

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeF...es/scaling.gif


ps

http://img.hexus.net/v2/graphics_car...SLI/Power2.png

50 watts more with that particular game at load. idle is much closer. the 470/480 cards will lose value faster vs a 200 or so dollar 460. always like this

Last edited by _dangtx_; August 3, 2010 at 10:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 10:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanadien View Post
What would the difference in performance be from sli 460's to a single 470 and by the way my monitor is 1920x1080 2ms
A 470 is enough for your resolution. I would stick with that rather than getting two 460s, since if you ever need more performance in the future you can add another 470, whereas if you go with two 460s right away, you can't really get much more performance (three-way SLI does not scale very well).
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 01:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64

My System Specs

Default power supply

If i was considering getting another 470 in the future to sli then should I be getting a higher watted power supply now?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$2500'ish (broken budget already, 3K now) Gaming Build - Suggestions/Thoughts? Caldezar New Builds 57 August 15, 2010 03:23 PM
Thoughts on this build? Ghlin New Builds 9 December 11, 2009 05:54 AM
Thoughts on my I7 build thunderstruck67 New Builds 24 August 14, 2009 10:38 AM
New here and a new build any thoughts bobiseverywhere New Builds 20 January 29, 2009 01:03 PM
Platform Advice/Suggestions/Thoughts ev0styLe New Builds 17 December 19, 2008 06:21 AM